Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: PSU fans not running

  1. #1
    dadelor's Avatar Supercalafragalistic BT Rep: +4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    WonderLand
    Posts
    297
    Hey guys i was wondering if anyone could help me out here. I noticed today after installing a new hard drive that neither of the two fans in my power supply were spinning. I actually had the computer running for about 4 hours before noticing this. the computer runs fine, the temps for the cpu, gpu, and memory are all fine. voltages are normal, and no weird noises but the fans arent working. my power supply is a Powerup Gen-6803 800-watt http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...286&CatId=2534
    This is really weird and wanted to see if anyone could give me some ideas of what is going on. Thanks for any help you can give me guys.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    The fans died.
    Not really surprising given the build quality of the Powerup line.
    Count yourself lucky that POS didn't take out your whole system, replace with a decent PSU.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    dadelor's Avatar Supercalafragalistic BT Rep: +4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    WonderLand
    Posts
    297
    Yeah I know it sucks I bought it with that psu and i was worried something like this would happen. I should have changed it earlier. It was just weird to me that it still works but the fans dont thats why i was asking for help. But thanks alot clocker for your response.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Quote Originally Posted by dadelor View Post
    It was just weird to me that it still works but the fans dont thats why i was asking for help.
    There is nothing in the power supply proper that explicitly requires a fan to work.
    The fan(s) simply keep it cool (hopefully) so it will work longer.

    A good power supply (especially one with a variable speed fan) will go for quite a while- by design- with only minimal fan speed.
    This is due to proper circuit design and quality components.
    A cheap PSU on the other hand, needs all the airflow it can get- all the time- because of it's inherently marginal nature.

    The power supply, while not as sexy or fun as say, a video card, is the worst possible component to skimp on because if it goes, it can take the whole shebang down with it.
    Faced with the smoking ruins of your computer, the $50, $75 or $100 dollars you "saved" will look like small- albeit roasted- potatoes.

    I like Corsair power supplies, BTW.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    S!X's Avatar L33T Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    7,734
    Quote Originally Posted by clocker View Post
    I like Corsair power supplies, BTW.
    Yes, please do yourself a favor and get a corsair PSU....you can't go wrong with em.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    dadelor's Avatar Supercalafragalistic BT Rep: +4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    WonderLand
    Posts
    297
    ok, my psu finally died. im just afraid it might have taken out my motherboard and cpu since it was a cheap power supply. and i dont have a another psu to test it yet so im stuck for right now until i get my replacement. is there any other way to test it?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    No.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Detale's Avatar Go Snatch a Judge
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC
    Posts
    8,120
    What computer are you using now to post? Does it have a usable PSU?

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    dadelor's Avatar Supercalafragalistic BT Rep: +4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    WonderLand
    Posts
    297
    no the computer im using now is old compaq evo it has a 20-pin connector and i need a 24-pin for my other computer

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Detale's Avatar Go Snatch a Judge
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC
    Posts
    8,120
    You could get one of these:
    Link Depot Power Adapter Cable $3.99



    Still I would also recommend a corsair PSU. I have 3 of them. From the day Clocker recommended it to me I was hooked.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •