Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Computer Shut Down

  1. #1
    Skweeky's Avatar Manker's web totty
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    11,762
    I have the following problem

    I just got a new computer, it's all standard, didn't change anything yet (hardware I mean). Every now and then it just shut down without warning, then restarts. My screen flickers every now and then so I thought it might be a problem with my graphics card....

    Just wanted to hear a few opinions before I start looking into it

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    I assume you don't mean that it goes through the proper shutdown procedure (saving settings etc).

    There are so many possibilities, from a component not seated correctly, to faulty software drivers. Is there any pattern to the reboots? System specs might be useful.

    First of all, run Window Update to see if there are any updated drivers.
    Try removing and reseating the memory, and the graphics and other cards.

    Edit: Ketchup contamination ?
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Ex-member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    5,529
    It sounds similar to a problem I once had with dodgy RAM - basically instrucions held in RAM were being corrupted to a 'reset' command, as far as i can tell.

    You might want to try using MemTest86 to check that the RAM is not faulty.

    http:/www.memtest86.com

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Turn off the automatically restart on sytem failure feature.

    Press and hold the 'windows key' and press the 'Pause/Break' key. Now in the window that pops-up Click on the 'Advanced tab', goto the 'Startup and Recovery - Settings' then remove the checkmark from [ ] Automatically restart and click ok.

    Now instead of restarting, your computer will give an error message.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    1,232
    Originally posted by Virtualbody1234@9 October 2003 - 17:11


    Now instead of restarting, your computer will give an error message.
    Hopefully not the blue screen of death or some error message that you can't get out off, then it won't make much of a difference

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Yes it makes a difference. You can use the information to diagnose the problem and fix it.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Skweeky's Avatar Manker's web totty
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    11,762
    Sorry for not replying any sooner


    I did the Windows update, and that thing Virtualbody said, and it hasn't happened again so far. I'll let you know in a few days if the problem has been solved

    Thanks everyone!

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Skweeky's Avatar Manker's web totty
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    11,762
    Thanks guys, the problem has been solved.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Installed a new ketchup driver?
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    bowrabob's Avatar Reformed devo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Age
    66
    Posts
    124
    I put a new PC together and when I booted it for the first time it started to smoke...the 2nd bank of Ram had popped up...I never clipped it in properly....I re booted and windows started...it was going fine untill I played Quake 3 it shut down and restarted ...sometimes when I boot it tells me to replace the sytsem disk...is the Board stuffed ?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •