Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Case Fan Rpm Question

  1. #1
    abu_has_the_power's Avatar I have cool stars
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,503
    i have all my fans hooked up in parallel and 1 molex goes to the psu. now, i'm trying to increase the rpm of my fans, and i'm wondering if i hook each individual fan to a rheobus or fan controller with the dials, would i be able to increase the rpm higher than it is now (now meaning parallel and hooked up to the psu with 1 molex). thanks

    also, if u know how to do this, i want to increase the rpm of my cpu's heatsink fan. it's like an "intel" fan. stupid shit, but i'm trying to decrease my cpu temp. i use this weird soft called foxstep that came with my mobo drivers, and it can set minimum cpu fan rpms. before the rpm was 2600 something like tat, now, i set the minimum to 3000, and the rpm increased to 2800. i want to increase higher. is there a good software to do this?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    abu_has_the_power's Avatar I have cool stars
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,503
    please help?

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    ur not suppose to increase your rpm on ur ur fans more than they are..lol its like running ur car in 1st gear all the time...

    make sure u dont conect alot of fans on 1 power supply

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    abu_has_the_power's Avatar I have cool stars
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,503
    hmm.... arn't u supposed to parallel connect all the fans? or how the hell r u supposed to have enough molexes? please don't pretend to be an idiot.

    so does the fan controller or rheobus increase the rpm beyond wat it is now?

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    When hooking up your fan without the rheobus they run at their maximum speed. If you add the rheobus you can only slow the fan down with it.

    If you would get a fan that was rated much faster then you could use the rheobus to control how fast and therefore how loud the fan is.

    Here is a picture of a faster (4800rpm) case fan:

    Also available in 5700 RPM version

    Click for ---> Vantec site

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    no, the fan controller just lowers ur rpms so it makes ur pc quite, ive seen some on ebay and they look pretty good, i think making ur fans faster would require u to put more power into them, but doin that is prolly dangerous b/c they can burn up

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    abu_has_the_power's Avatar I have cool stars
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,503
    doesn't a rheobus controll up to 20 volts or watts? so if it's at highest, the fan would have the highest wattage or voltage, making the fan faster. am i rite?

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    abu_has_the_power's Avatar I have cool stars
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,503
    please help

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Originally posted by abu_has_the_power@10 October 2003 - 16:01
    doesn't a rheobus controll up to 20 volts or watts? so if it's at highest, the fan would have the highest wattage or voltage, making the fan faster. am i rite?
    No you are not.

    If your fan is now hooked directly to the power supply it is running as fast as it ever will.
    The rheostat will only served to slow it down.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    abu_has_the_power's Avatar I have cool stars
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,503
    does hooking it in serial and parallel have any difference?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •