Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Oops I Broke My Xp Start Menu,

  1. #1
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    would anyone be able to go to there c:\documents and settings\%user%\start menu folder and copy the desktop.ini contents for me. or even all users of default user should work, cheers.

    %user% means ur name, u will have to show hidden files and maybe even system files too see it

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Originally posted by Livy@12 October 2003 - 19:32
    would anyone be able to go to there c:\documents and settings\%user%\start menu folder and copy the desktop.ini contents for me. or even all users of default user should work, cheers.

    %user% means ur name, u will have to show hidden files and maybe even system files too see it
    thats not for hacking purpose, is it . i would have helped but i dont have XP anymore on my computer

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    no, i deleted all the desktop.ini files under startmenu and now it doesnt have the picture up the side, and the top bit, above programs

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    GLASGOW
    Posts
    294
    Originally posted by ....startmenu+--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (....startmenu)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'>[.ShellClassInfo]
    LocalizedResourceName=@shell32.dll,-21786[/b]


    <!--QuoteBegin-.....start menu&#092;programs


    [.ShellClassInfo]
    LocalizedResourceName=@shell32.dll,-21782
    [LocalizedFileNames]
    Windows Media Player.lnk=@C:&#092;WINDOWS&#092;inf&#092;unregmp2.exe,-4
    Remote Assistance.lnk=@%systemroot%&#092;system32&#092;rcbdyctl.dll,-152
    Outlook Express.lnk=@xpsp1res.dll,-11004
    Internet Explorer.lnk=@xpsp1res.dll,-11001
    [/quote]


    Good luck.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    cheers, but it doesnt seem as though that was the prob.
    ive lost the graphic at the side of the classic menu, do u know how to get it back?

    edit: it was just showing black because it was to small, i got it back now.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    GLASGOW
    Posts
    294
    Glad you got it sorted.


  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    Come to Glasgow - It&#39;s fecking brilliant&#33;&#33;
    Come to Fife, its even better.

    no prob, i thought i had buggered it and this is just a clean install, i usually bugger it cleanin all the crap etc

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    abu_has_the_power's Avatar I have cool stars
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,503
    next time u have that prob, system restore fixes everything. today, i installed this style for stylexp, and it screwed up my IE6 icon, and i used system restore, and all&#39;s well

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    i have system restore disabled. dont like it, the less crap running the better.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Regular Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    935
    lol yeah it tends to hod loads of hdd space..but can be useful when you feck something up and need to restor fast&#33;

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •