Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: How To Block Webpage/ip Address Using Hosts File

  1. #1
    slim150's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Age
    34
    Posts
    452
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I know how to block IP addresses and websites with things like zone alarm but i dont want to. i have a certain site that i want to block and i have its ip address, how can i block it so nothing gets sent to it. i think using the hosts file somehow
    "Their most trivial action may mean volumes, or their most extraordinary conduct may depend upon a hairpin or a pair of curling-tongs" - Holmes


  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    HeavyMetalParkingLot's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Manhattan
    Posts
    1,855
    the easiest way to stop them is to stop browsing beastiality sites........

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    wormless's Avatar Beauty
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    uk
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,097
    or buy norton and block it tht way!

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    slim150's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Age
    34
    Posts
    452
    uh no. mainly what my idea is when Dead Aim 4.1 comes out, i want to download it and a keygen, then block jdennis.net so it willnot keep reminding me about the serial
    "Their most trivial action may mean volumes, or their most extraordinary conduct may depend upon a hairpin or a pair of curling-tongs" - Holmes


  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    slim150's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Age
    34
    Posts
    452
    i already have norton corporate edition, but all it is is just a realtime virus protector/scanner, it does not have any options. i wanted to like edit this without downloading anything else
    "Their most trivial action may mean volumes, or their most extraordinary conduct may depend upon a hairpin or a pair of curling-tongs" - Holmes


  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    sparsely's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    static hum
    Posts
    3,538
    you would add a line like this:

    127.0.0.1 jdennis.net

    127.0.0.1 is the loopback address of your NIC, which means when something tries to resolve the domain name jdennis.net,
    it will try to do it locally, which, of course, doesn't host jdennis.net....so the communication fails.

    this post is guaranteed 100% parrot-free

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Allow me to introduce u to some of my tips:

    HERE and HERE

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    slim150's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Age
    34
    Posts
    452
    i added 127.0.0.1 jdennis.net to my hosts file, but it still let me access jdennis.net when i tried to go to it. Did i mess up? what can i do?
    "Their most trivial action may mean volumes, or their most extraordinary conduct may depend upon a hairpin or a pair of curling-tongs" - Holmes


  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    slim150's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Age
    34
    Posts
    452
    ne one?
    "Their most trivial action may mean volumes, or their most extraordinary conduct may depend upon a hairpin or a pair of curling-tongs" - Holmes


  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    make a copy of hosts file, then follow my 2 links above from scratch. when ur done, just add 127.0.0.1 or 0.0.0.0 (tab) and the site's name (confirm it's spelling first).

    Note, u cannot mix 127.0.0.1 & 0.0.0.0 in HOSTS, EITHER OR, NOT BOTH.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •