Your Ad Here Your Ad Here

View Poll Results: How Do U Overclock?, Fast or Slow?

Voters
33. You may not vote on this poll
  • Fast

    8 24.24%
  • Slow

    15 45.45%
  • You shouldn't at all

    10 30.30%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: How Do U Overclock?

  1. #1
    Wolfmight's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Location: Location:
    Posts
    5,873
    Fast= You jump strait to a mhz you want.

    Slow= You take it slow and only up it 1-4mhz at a time.. then test it.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Slow.

    Chances are that if you try to jump straight to a figure, you will go straight past the best stable figure. Some motherboards have a feature which can slowly increase the FSB until the system becomes unstable. On the next reboot a slightly lower frequency will have been set. Other boards provide software to try this 'on the fly', but you often need to watch this and make a note of the stable frequency.

    Also, there will be different stable frequencies for different components (mem, agp etc) so you need to lock those down first while testing your processor, then lock your processor down while testing mem, and so on. This all depends on the capabilities of your motherboard, and whether you can change the processor multiplier.

    Once you've tested everything, you then need to work out the optimum frequencies/multipliers to give the best overall performance.

    Edit: remember that if you have a multilpier of 12 (for example) raising the FSB by 1MHz raises processor speed by 12MHz, which is quite a big jump, so during the testing phase it is quite common to change the multiplier in order to find the best speed. For example, with a 12x multiplier you may find that the system is stable at 1992Mhz (12x166) but unstable at 2004MHz (12x167). By dropping the multiplier it may be possible to check 2000Mhz (10x200) or 1998MHz (9x222).
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    CornerPocket's Avatar Retired
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    aTx, USA
    Posts
    1,586
    I do either - or..................I've been doing it for some time and have ample supplies to mobo's & cpu's

    Those wanting to experiment should heed the words of lynx above.
    "8-ball Corner Pocket"

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Originally posted by Wolfmight@15 October 2003 - 14:26
    Fast= You jump strait to a mhz you want.

    Slow= You take it slow and only up it 1-4mhz at a time.. then test it.
    Are you asking about CPU? Or GPU?

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    quickly for the first few increases, then go more slowly when you're reaching the 'limit'

    unless of course, you already know the device is stable at a certain speed, in which case, i just knock it up to that straight away
    <span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>BLAH</span>

    <span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>Wayne Rooney - A thug and a thief</span>

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    abu_has_the_power's Avatar I have cool stars
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,503
    slow is always better. especially for noobs. if they run into a prob, there is still room to reverse back to default.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Originally posted by abu_has_the_power@15 October 2003 - 21:58
    slow is always better. especially for noobs
    pot
    kettle
    black

    <span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>BLAH</span>

    <span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>Wayne Rooney - A thug and a thief</span>

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Wolfmight's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Location: Location:
    Posts
    5,873
    Originally posted by adamp2p+15 October 2003 - 14:57--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (adamp2p @ 15 October 2003 - 14:57)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-Wolfmight@15 October 2003 - 14:26
    Fast= You jump strait to a mhz you want.

    Slow= You take it slow and only up it 1-4mhz at a time.. then test it.
    Are you asking about CPU? Or GPU? [/b][/quote]
    both

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Wolfmight's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Location: Location:
    Posts
    5,873
    glad i made this poll.. i was thinkin of jumpin strait to 370mhz clock.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Wolfmight's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Location: Location:
    Posts
    5,873
    I took it slow and was able to reach about 378mhz core. 285mhz memory.
    1 strait jump mighta blew it.
    I decided just to use 300mhz core and normal 270mhz memory for normal useage.. whilst i swap to the 360-370mhz core when i wanna play a game like Splinter Cell at max everything. (heh that game would still run slow at that 1280x1024 res with max settings unless i had overclocked core)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •