Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Peerguardian Problem

  1. #1
    abu_has_the_power's Avatar I have cool stars
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,503
    i start peerguardian and i'm dling 2 things using shadow's experimental. i check my cpu temp, and it's at 50!! that's like playing halo and academy at the same time for me! then i turn off peerguardian and keep all my dls and stuff on, and the temp drops to 38. wtf is this supposed to mean? y does peerguardian take up so much cpu and stuff. it's making my cpu run extra full load. wtf

  2. File Sharing   -   #2
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    376
    you could always import the peer guardian list into your firewall program

  3. File Sharing   -   #3
    Rat Faced's Avatar Broken
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Newcasil
    Age
    52
    Posts
    9,076
    How much resources would you use checking 70,000,000 plus IPs everytime there is a connection in a manner quick enough to allow or refuse the connection before it connects?

    Remember that some of the studios try and connect many times per second.....

    An It Harm None, Do What You Will

  4. File Sharing   -   #4
    abu_has_the_power's Avatar I have cool stars
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,503
    Originally posted by Rat Faced@18 October 2003 - 20:01
    How much resources would you use checking 70,000,000 plus IPs everytime there is a connection in a manner quick enough to allow or refuse the connection before it connects?

    Remember that some of the studios try and connect many times per second.....
    so then it's normal to have my cpu work at higher-than-full load? wow. i thought peerguardian was a small program.

  5. File Sharing   -   #5
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Outer Mongolia
    Posts
    489
    I import the ranges into Sygate firewall (free on sygate)
    as i also had problems with peer guardian cpu consumption.

  6. File Sharing   -   #6
    abu_has_the_power's Avatar I have cool stars
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,503
    yea, i'm sticking with zonealarm until they find a way to reduce peerguardian's resource hogging

  7. File Sharing   -   #7
    sup abu?

    how do you add all those ip ranges to zone alarm? is there like an import file feature that you utilise? coz i was checking the bad ip addresses txt file (85k) and the entries are plenty... adding each range manually doesnt seem to be a good idea...

    im sure there must be another way of doing it but am not aware of it.

    id appreciate your help

    fmh002

  8. File Sharing   -   #8
    abu_has_the_power's Avatar I have cool stars
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,503
    finalized zapro 4 xml instructions:

    if you don't have xmlspy dl http://www.xmlspy.com/

    you're going to want to click settings> folder options> view and uncheck hide file
    extensions for known file types- the reason is that you'll be changing xml files to text
    and vice versa (easy- just rename with .txt instead of .xml etc)


    1. First you need to backup your current zone alarm settings, which will create a file in the xml format.
    To do this, go to: Overview=> Preferences=> and click the backup button. Call the file backup.
    the file will now be saved as Ďbackup.xmlí in the location where you saved it, by default it saves
    in my documents.

    2. Copy the zone alarm pro xml dump from this site. Here is the link:http://methlab.tech.nu/pg2zap.asp (it is up to date and includes the thumbs up ranges)

    3. Then copy the list from the above link and then go to this site: www.bluetack.co.uk and click on Security Blocklist Converter . select convert from: zone alarm to zone alarm. It will organize the information in a such a way that its easier to see where to remove the unwanted stuff, but that comes later on.

    4. Then open your backup.xml in notepad. Browse the file and you should come to point where it looks like this:
    CODE

    <file extension="MHT" active="true" description="Web Archive File"/>
    </quarantine>
    </attachments>
    <outboundMail ompEnabled="true" mailEnabled="true" maxMailSent="5" recipientEnabled="true" maxRecipients="50" interval="2" senderEnabled="false" authorizedSenders="******@***.com"/>
    </email>
    <firewall>
    <expert>
    <groups> </groups> <rules>
    <execute action="drop"/>
    <source>

    </source>
    </rule>

    </rules>
    </expert>
    </firewall>
    <zones>
    <trusted clearOldEntries="true" defaultNetworkStatus="ask" defaultAdapterMode="off">
    </trusted>
    <restricted clearOldEntries="true" defaultNetworkStatus="ask" defaultAdapterMode="off">
    &#33;&#33;&#33;&#33;&#33;&#33;&#33;PASTE THE FILE FROM BLUETACK HERE&#33;&#33;&#33;&#33;&#33; (please note you may already have ips listed
    here so just paste the data after the last ip entry

    5. Then paste the zone alarm pro dump from the bluetack.co.uk site after its been converted
    (important note- only copy and paste the ip data and NOT the following: before:
    <zones><restricted clearOldEntries="false" defaultNetworkStatus="ask" defaultAdapterMode="off">
    and after: </restricted></zones>
    and paste it under the highlighted area.

    6. Now save it and close it. And open it in XMLSPY. (there&#39;s no need to grant internet access
    to this program for this)

    7. Xmlspy will now tell you that the file is not well formed. the cursor will be in front of
    the first character that needs to be deleted, simply erase the > and then click recheck-
    you&#39;ll have to remove several > characters, then you come to C&D and you just delete the &
    and click recheck...move on to more > and the you come to Audifon Chat & Play- here you need
    to hit backspace twice- erasing the & and one space...now it says ok you you need to save-
    pick a name that you&#39;ll know it&#39;s for the final restore- like finalxmlready

    8. Everything should be good now. (To be on the safe side turn off your modem when you&#39;re
    changing your firewall settings) just save it and go to: overview=>preferences=>and click
    the restore button in the zone alarm firewall. Load the file finalxmlready.xml and it should
    open a box saying loading, once its complete It should say that there were no problems.
    Now you need to check if thatís true, by going to the firewall=>zone section where all the
    rules should appear.

    this should get u started. u might wanna update ur ips every week if u have time or every month like me

  9. File Sharing   -   #9
    thnx mate

  10. File Sharing   -   #10
    this only happens to me occasionally, so i dont see it that big a problem. B)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •