Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Any Good?

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    324
    AMD ATHLON XP 2500+ "Barton" 333 FSB PROCESSOR CPU- RETAIL
    Specifications:
    CPU: 1.83 GHz
    Type: XP 2500 Barton Core
    Cache: 512K L2, 128K L1, Total 640KB
    BUS: 333MHz
    Socket A
    Retail Box (Heatsink and Fan included)


    Biostar Motherboard for AMD Athlon/Athlon XP/ Duron Processor, Model# M7NCD
    2500+ "Barton" 333 FSB Processor CPU***
    Specifications:
    CPU Supported: Socket A AMD Athlon/Athlon XP/Duron processors
    Chipset: NVIDIA nForce2 SPP / MCP2
    FSB: 200/266/333/400
    RAM: 2x 184-pin DDR SDRAM DIMM (DDR 200/266/333/400 support)
    IDE: 2x channel IDE (UDMA 33/66/100/133)
    Slots: 1x AGP(4X/8X), 5x PCI
    Ports: 2xCOM,1xLPT,2xUSB, 1xLAN, and Audio Ports
    Onboard Audio: Realtek ALC650 6-ch AC'97 CODEC
    Onboard LAN: MCP NVIDIA MAC + Realtek ALC650 PHY

    KINGSTON KVR333X64C25/512 512MB 32x64 PC2700 DDR RAM (better than 2100 2400)
    6 Layers High Quality Board; CL 2.5; 184-Pin Unbuffered. Requires DDR supported Motherboard - Lifetime Warranty through

    TOTAL:$ 232.00


    are these three things any good becuase i need some need some new parts for my cpu?

    Live by the sword, Die by the sword.
    We all seek peace, but few of us will ever find it.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Keikan's Avatar ........
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Edmonton (Not Enfield)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,771
    I just made a topic about athlon 2500+ and yes they're good

    and it's better to get an asus motherboard
    Ohh noo!!! I make dribbles!!!

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    Yeah get ASUS...but everything else is AWESOME
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    that's a good combo... i have mine overclocked and acting like a xp3200 w/out increasing voltage.

    if you're going to get that motherboard get the pro version of that one (i have that one) it outperforms the best asus in all benchmarks and only costs 57 dollars after the mail in rebate from newegg.

    make sure to get two sticks of ram to get the dual channel...

    edit: oh yeah... if you can get the pc3200 ram... it allows for easy overclocking... all you have to do is get a decent heatsink and have a good case fan or two. i have corsair, but geil works well also for cheaper (83bucks for 512 megs).

    rk

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    324
    make sure to get two sticks of ram to get the dual channel...
    do you mean get two 256 sticks or two 512 sticks?



    edit:


    this is what i have now"

    CORSAIR 512MB PC3200 VALUE SELECT. VS512MB400 DDR RAM - OEM
    184-Pin. CL=2.5-Unbuffered 2.5V. 64x64 Requires DDR 400 supported Motherboard - Lifetime Warranty.

    Biostar Motherboard for AMD Athlon/AthlonXP/Duron processors , Model# M7NCD PRO Retail.
    Specifications:
    CPU Supported: AMD Athlon/AthlonXP(Palomino, T-bred and Barton)/Duron processors
    Chipset: Nvidia nForce2 Ultra 400, MCP2
    FSB: 200/266/333/400
    RAM: 3x 184-pin DDR DIMMs (PC3200/2700/2100/1600 DDR SDRAMs), supports both 64-bit and 128-bit DDR SDRAM,Dual Channel DDR
    Slots:1xAGP (4x/8x) 5xPCI.
    Ports:2xCOM,1xLPT, 4xUSB (2x via header), 1xLAN, and Audio Ports
    Onboard Audio: Realtek ALC650 6-Channel AC'97 CODEC
    Onboard LAN: Intregrated 10/100 Ethernet

    AMD ATHLON XP 2500+ "Barton" 333 FSB PROCESSOR CPU- RETAIL
    Specifications:
    CPU: 1.83 GHz
    Type: XP 2500 Barton Core
    Cache: 512K L2, 128K L1, Total 640KB
    BUS: 333MHz
    Socket A
    Retail Box (Heatsink and Fan included)

    wiith the rebates this will come out around $236. good ?

    Live by the sword, Die by the sword.
    We all seek peace, but few of us will ever find it.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Rocktron's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Den Haag, The Netherlands
    Age
    52
    Posts
    1,325
    I have a AMD Athlon 2800+ and a MSI KT4V motherboard.
    But i just can't get it to see this CPU as a 2800+..
    There must be something in the bios to get it to work properly?
    I updated the bios from the MSI Home Page but... just need to know the settings!

    It says 2200+ now.. where is the rest?


    Can anybody help?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    in the main BIOS screen, go to CPU PnP setup, then go down to CPU speed and adjust it from there. hope that helps.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    vols -

    i have two sticks of 512 megs for a total of a gig of ram (pc3200)... however that much is overkill unless you plan on doing some serious 3d gaming. if you plan on going 512, get two sticks of 256 to enable the dual channel on that board. if you go a gig, get two sticks of 512, etc.

    Rocktron - you may have to kick your fsb up...

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Rocktron's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Den Haag, The Netherlands
    Age
    52
    Posts
    1,325
    Originally posted by reignking@19 October 2003 - 17:46
    Rocktron - you may have to kick your fsb up...
    Yes reignking.. The Faceman told me that too and it helped!
    I set it to 166mhz and that did the trick.

    I downloaded a bios update because it didn't work before..

    Now it does!

    Thanks guy's

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •