Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: How Does This Dj Thing Work?

  1. #1
    scribblec's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    england
    Posts
    3,326
    what is this dj thing?

    how do we listen do we need win amp


    if i want to be a dj how do i go about doing this?

    do we use our own mp3 collection which we have backed up

    do we use our mic?

    can we play any music?

    how do i get a slot

  2. Lounge   -   #2
    summerlinda's Avatar Pyretta¤Blaze
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Age
    44
    Posts
    1,450

  3. Lounge   -   #3
    Ex-member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    5,529
    OK...


    You are essentially playing back music on your computer and speaking over it with your microphone. You need some sort of sotware that will take this sound data and send it to a server.

    I use SAM2, which processes and re-encodes the mp3s as well as offering some fairly sophisticated DJing functions. Alternatively, you can use a WinAmp ShoutCast plugin to send the data straight from WinAmp.

    When you stream the audio data to the server, it 'mirrors' the show so that many people can listen. You only send one stream to the server. Hundreds of people can connect to the server and hear what you're broadcasting.

  4. Lounge   -   #4
    thewizeard's Avatar re-member BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    7,607
    Originally posted by Lamsey@24 October 2003 - 23:18
    OK...


    You are essentially playing back music on your computer and speaking over it with your microphone. You need some sort of sotware that will take this sound data and send it to a server.

    I use SAM2, which processes and re-encodes the mp3s as well as offering some fairly sophisticated DJing functions. Alternatively, you can use a WinAmp ShoutCast plugin to send the data straight from WinAmp.

    When you stream the audio data to the server, it 'mirrors' the show so that many people can listen. You only send one stream to the server. Hundreds of people can connect to the server and hear what you're broadcasting.
    Right...um ..yes, what is sotware?

  5. Lounge   -   #5
    Ex-member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    5,529
    Originally posted by nigel123@24 October 2003 - 22:20
    Right...um ..yes, what is sotware?
    It's clearly a typo

  6. Lounge   -   #6
    scribblec's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    england
    Posts
    3,326
    so basically i send it to the server first and then it plays?

  7. Lounge   -   #7
    Ex-member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    5,529
    Originally posted by scribblec@24 October 2003 - 22:22
    so basically i send it to the server first and then it plays?
    Yes, but there's only a 10(ish) second lag. It's almost real-time.

  8. Lounge   -   #8
    muchspl2
    Guest
    I still can't believe netwiser can't get it going, whats even weirder is he ask a seconds before show time

  9. Lounge   -   #9
    scribblec's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    england
    Posts
    3,326
    oooo i already have a playlist with rap rock and dido ready


    also do i have to talk aswell?

    and cant we use media player

  10. Lounge   -   #10
    Ex-member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    5,529
    Originally posted by scribblec@24 October 2003 - 22:24
    oooo i already have a playlist with rap rock and dido ready


    also do i have to talk aswell?

    and cant we use media player
    Yes, you need to talk.

    You can't use Media Player. I suggest you acquire SAM2; if not, use Winamp or QCD with the ShoutCast plugin.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •