Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Post Your Media Center Room and/or PC :D

  1. #1
    iLOVENZB's Avatar FST Crew BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Land gurt by sea
    Posts
    9,196
    I've been contemplating if I should build one for our theater room but I've had other commitments.

    Post your rooms, boxes and your specs .

    Spoiler: Show
    "Computer games don't affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music"

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Detale's Avatar Go Snatch a Judge
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC
    Posts
    8,120
    You should know that you don't need an i5 to play BR movies compressed or otherwise bud. If it's just for movie use you can get a tiny pc with an atom cpu. I think Skizo did this and it worked out well for him. I forget which model he went with but it was something like this
    Capture.JPG

    Of course personally I'd say go for a WDTV Live (best bang for your buck). With a homebrew firmware they are really really snazzy looking check out my other thread. I have a few WD boxes and I am running an old PC as a server using Freenas. It is really the best config I have tried yet and I have tried them ALL! It's fairly easy to set up and has worked without a hitch for years now. Plays all the formats, only costs about $100 and simply....works like it should.


    EDIT" Oh my specs. Well My main PC is an i7 with an EVGA p55 and is all customed out like


    It's been a work in progress for YEARS NOW
    Last edited by Detale; 11-26-2010 at 05:30 PM.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Now that's hot. What case is that?

    Quote Originally Posted by iLOVENZB View Post
    Is a Core i5 good enough for BD playback? I run 1080p rips on a Quad core box but not sure what uncompressed video will be like.
    I could be wrong but I'm pretty sure you're got it backwards. Compressed video needs a better CPU because it has to decompress as it plays, uncompressed video just has to play...
    Last edited by tesco; 11-26-2010 at 05:55 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Detale's Avatar Go Snatch a Judge
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC
    Posts
    8,120
    You are correct sir, but an i5 is overkill if it's just to play video.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Quote Originally Posted by Detale View Post
    You are correct sir, but an i5 is overkill if it's just to play video.

    I think the vid card is more important.
    My old computer, an athlon 64 3200+ with a nvidia 6800, would sometimes stutter playing 720p. 1080 was impossible. When I put in my 8800gt it was able to play perfectly.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Detale's Avatar Go Snatch a Judge
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC
    Posts
    8,120
    Well yes, and no. Sure the video card is a factor but more importantly it's the codec package. I remember using I think AVC codecs (or something, can't remember the damn name or find my old HTPC thread) as it uses more of the cpu I believe. I remember Skizo had an issue when he first got his ion setup recently but the codecs resolved it. ATM I've been using "Shark007's" and I'm happy with it.


    EDIT: Just remembered its CoreAVC
    Last edited by Detale; 11-26-2010 at 08:26 PM.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    KFlint's Avatar ... BT Rep: +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    5,643
    CoreAVC is indeed pretty effective, on my old XP PC, some hd movies wouldn't have a decent frame rate at times and after installing CoreAVC they were all playing without flaws.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    lightshow's Avatar Asleep at the wheel
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Age
    33
    Posts
    928
    CoreAVC's main function that seperates it is that it will offload processing to the GPU.

    The first pic you posted was a Foxconn nettop with an ION video chipset. These chipsets are known to be able to offload to the GPU if the video software is configured to do so (hardware acceleration).

    This is possible on Linux VADPU and Windows.

    I've heard of sucess over at xbmc.org with nettops such as Foxconn or Acer Aspire Revo which use the ION chipset with the Atom processor to do 1080i streaming / playback. The hardware decoding functionally makes it so you don't need a juiced up processor anymore. Then you can go down in formfactor and PSU requirements.

    I'm planning on building my HTPC using FoxConn or Zotac Zbox nettops. They'll allow me 1080i. I don't really do blueray or physical disks so all I care about is MKV 1080i streaming (muliple audio channels, 5.1, etc.) of whatever the source was : blueray or not using XBMC as my platform running on Ubuntu (XBMC Live).

    I may actually switch to Windows so that I can configure my emulator sets using maximus arcade as the Front end which will be cross launchable between that app and XBMC.

    Right now I'm in the planning stages and testing with the XBMC and Maximus Arcade seamless integration and how to setup all my controllers (N64, Snes, etc. via USB) and make sure all my settings are always persistent.
    I miss the days of random nut '03
    Click for more activation options, then activate by telephone. Run the keygen.
    if I call them, aren't they going to get me? (you know, down there)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •