Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 8 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 76

Thread: Cd-burner Burning Too Slow?

  1. #1
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Guatemala
    Posts
    4,097
    ok... i got a liteon 48x24x48, so i would normally burn a cd in 2:30 minutes from the hdd....however, i've been burning things today (from a fresh restart) and its taking from 6-7 minutes per cd.....with whatever program i use.... either nero, alcohol or clonecd....

    could this be because my hdd is packed with files? im burning cuz i need space hehe.... but i dont know and dont think this could be the reason...

    any ideas?
    thx
    DWk

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    are u running anything like kazaa,wmp,winamp?

    i find if i run aim,norton, and listion to music it slows my burning speed slower, from 40-50 to 30-35

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Supernatural's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    New York
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,123
    Making audio CDs from MP3s take longer to burn than data CDs because the files have to be re-encoded before burning. Burning speed also depends on the media. A 52x will only burn at 16x if that's what the blanks support.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Is ultraDMA enabled?

    Defragment your drives.

    Are the blank CDs rated a slow speed?

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Halifax,Nova Scotia Canada
    Posts
    476
    I had the exact same problem a little while ago.I checked to see if ultraDMA was enabled (it was) ,my CD's were 48X like my burner and I was defragmented. I couldn't get it to change. I haven't burned anything for about two weeks and then last night I burned a few things and it is back to normal. I can't figure what was wrong.
    Gigabyte GA7-VT600 P-L
    Athlon XP2500+ @ 3200+
    512mb OCZ DDR333 (2,3,3,7)
    Samsung SP8004h 80gig harddrive
    Radeon 9200 128 mb
    LG cdrw/dvd drive

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Guatemala
    Posts
    4,097
    yeps.....cds are 48x..... ultradma.... cant remember about this....where can i see if its enabled?

    well yea i havent defragmented.... i will do when i finish burning all the movies

    oh and its just data cds....either avis or games....so i dunno what the problem can be

    DWk

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Poster
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Leeds - Yorkshire - UK
    Posts
    1,364
    ultraDMA
    You need to go to System Properties - Device Manager - Cd Properties Settings check also the hard drive(s) while there if they are not in dma tick the box(es)and you will have to reboot to enable them.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Guatemala
    Posts
    4,097


    i dont see any of those... i mean the drives are there, but when i rightclick->properties i dont see any ultradma option anywhere

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Poster
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Leeds - Yorkshire - UK
    Posts
    1,364
    Sorry look under settings.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Guatemala
    Posts
    4,097
    setting of what?

Page 1 of 8 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •