Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Reccomend me a PSU?

  1. #1
    Elvenmunky's Avatar Day Sleeper
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Age
    31
    Posts
    433
    My current PSU is failing. It is waay past its warranty so I need a new one. I don't want to fork out loads of money on a new one but I want one that will last me for a few years. I don't want to spend money on unnecessary wattage so which PSU shall I buy? Here are my specs -

    Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
    Asus P5WDH Deluxe Mobo
    6GB PC6400 DDRII RAM
    500GB Samsung SATAII HDD
    Asus Geforce 8800GTS 640MB
    OCZ 700W PSU (faulty)
    Linksys Wireless adapter
    Creative Xtreme Gamer soundcard
    Creative T7900 (7.1 Speakers)
    Asus mw221u (22 inch monitor)
    Microsoft wireless mouse
    Microsoft wireless keyboard
    Asus P5W-DH Deluxe Mobo
    "Our generation has had no Great Depression, no Great War.
    Our war is spiritual. Our depression is our lives." - Tyler Durden

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    I've been using Corsair power supplies for several years and been very happy.
    I'd say anything over 600w would be sufficient and leave a bit of headroom for your hardware.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Elvenmunky's Avatar Day Sleeper
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Age
    31
    Posts
    433
    Quote Originally Posted by clocker View Post
    I've been using Corsair power supplies for several years and been very happy.
    I'd say anything over 600w would be sufficient and leave a bit of headroom for your hardware.
    Thanx!
    "Our generation has had no Great Depression, no Great War.
    Our war is spiritual. Our depression is our lives." - Tyler Durden

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Many OEM computer makers have power supplies 'made to order' from PSU manufacturers. They do this to make it fit into the space available in their case design layout. The byproduct of this is that off the shelf power supplies will not physically fit into the space available. The first thing I would check is the physical dimensions of the old power supply, then try to replace it with one that fits.


    Seattle Town Car
    Last edited by jamankhan; 03-12-2011 at 06:54 PM.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,684
    It's fairly certain it isn't a factory built computer just going by his specs, meaning it's more or less certain that it won't be a proprietary format on the psu.

    You can't fit that mobo into a shuttle, and it's damned sure it's not an apple, or dell, or any other manufacturer I've seen using proprietary psus like you describe.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Detale's Avatar Go Snatch a Judge
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC
    Posts
    8,120
    Well I wouldn't say "many" OEM builders do this. Honestly I've only seen much older Dell machines this way. For the most part how would it be cost effective to have custom PSU's made up? OK I'll just say it. You're wrong Jamankhan.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Yes, he is.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •