Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: How To Enable Udma In Xp?

  1. #1
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Guatemala
    Posts
    4,097
    k so my drive isnt working its way.... its not working in UDMA anymore.... but the option in XP is that use UDMA when available..... any ideas?

    I have a Western Digital WD800BB-00DAA1 80gig.... and i know it supports UDMA because i've used it before (or at least the drive wasnt as slow as it is right now)...

    any ideas? thx

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    i had a similar problem and it turned out my via chipset drivers where pretty naff.

    found the latest drivers and it worked really well after that.

    i would check your ide drivers and make sure they are produced by the manufacturer rather then m$.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    lightshow's Avatar Asleep at the wheel
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Age
    32
    Posts
    924
    Also, check your computers BIOS

    When it starts up, press the delete key to enter the BIOS set up screen

    Then check your options and make sure that UDMA is Enabled there.

    Some BIOS's won't automatically enable UDMA, mostly the older Motherboards
    I miss the days of random nut '03
    Click for more activation options, then activate by telephone. Run the keygen.
    if I call them, aren't they going to get me? (you know, down there)

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    With XP, you need to enable it in the registry as well..
    If it was enabled previously, and it isnt now this could be a reason why...XP by default will disable DMA after 6 failed crc checks

    Have a look here for help ---------------->Enabling UDMA

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Guatemala
    Posts
    4,097
    u know where i can get via drivers?

    i have an MSI KT4 Ultra board..... which would be this http://www.msi.com.tw/program/products/mai...ail.php?UID=356

    im downloading bios update right now....

    yea i checked bios and it has nothing of udma....well i should check after i update the drivers.....

    anyone where i can get a driver update (if there actually is) of the hard drive?

    thx

    DWk

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Guatemala
    Posts
    4,097
    k now it gives me the creeps to just try to update it.....

    with all the nonsense and jibberish they talk about flashing and stuff....

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Originally posted by DWk@11 November 2003 - 16:15
    anyone where i can get a driver update (if there actually is) of the hard drive?



    Tried the obvious?..(manufacturers website)

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Guatemala
    Posts
    4,097
    of course i looked....but cant actually find it....

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    4,053
    Mate tri these

    ide tool for performance.

    http://www.viaarena.com/?PageID=340

    Via service pack....This includes ide drivers too.if you want to install the service pack install it first before the top driver.

    http://www.viaarena.com/?PageID=300

    Some via patches and tweaks


    http://www.georgebreese.com/net/software/

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Guatemala
    Posts
    4,097
    well i tried ur solution and installed the service pack...but udma is still off

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •