Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Hdd Temperature: Crasy Indications In Hmonitor.

  1. #1
    leonidas's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Paris
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,223
    I don't know why, but sometimes my computer give me a beeeeeeep!!and Hmonitor display a temperature of 253°Celcius!!! for 1 second or something ,

    Usualy my HDD temperature is betwen 29 and 37°Celcius (depending mostly on the temparature in my room)

    Is that normal ? or do I have a problem of voltages or something?

    I'm thinking about the voltages, because I always have those two indications displayed in red:

    Core +1,76V
    Aux +2,53V

    When I put my mouse cursor on these 2 indications, it display a maximum and minimum value for each one. Here they are:

    Core: Max=+1,79V / Min=+1,74V

    Aux: Max=+2,54V / Min=+2,53V


    Any help would be great

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Those temps are pretty normal.
    <span style='color:blue'><span style='font-family:Arial'>Msi ms-6330
    Amd Athlon at 1ghz
    896mb Ram pc-133
    Seagate 80gb 7,200 rpm
    Nvidia Geforce MX 420
    21 inch screen
    MSI 52X32X52 CD-RW (cr52-m)
    SoundBlaster 5.1 mp3+
    Creative Labs 5.1 Speakers
    Xp Pro Sp1</span></span>

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    leonidas's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Paris
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,223
    253°Celcius&#33;&#33;&#33;

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    You got your comp hooked up to a tv or something else?

    Sometimes, on some mobos some monitoring proggies may pick up unintended signals from tv&#39;s and suchlike.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    All these readings (temps, voltages etc) have to go through an A2D (analogue to digital) converter. A2D converters are quite slow devices, so it is possible to catch them in the middle of a &#39;refresh&#39;. When this happens, you get strange values which is probably what is happening here.

    It is often possible to check if the A2D is performing a refresh. A good piece of software will do that or look out for these anomalies and read the temp again. It sounds like Hmonitor isn&#39;t doing this.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    @leonidas, you display you HDD temperature but what&#39;s the CPU temperature?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Originally posted by lynx@11 November 2003 - 12:53
    All these readings (temps, voltages etc) have to go through an A2D (analogue to digital) converter. A2D converters are quite slow devices, so it is possible to catch them in the middle of a &#39;refresh&#39;. When this happens, you get strange values which is probably what is happening here.

    It is often possible to check if the A2D is performing a refresh. A good piece of software will do that or look out for these anomalies and read the temp again. It sounds like Hmonitor isn&#39;t doing this.
    Wow lynx&#33; That&#39;s pretty technical&#33;

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    leonidas's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Paris
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,223
    The cpu temperature is ok from 47c to 59c ( very rarely to 59c) most of the time it&#39;s like 56c. And it didn&#39;t bug like with the HHD temp displaying.

    Thanks for your help

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Perhaps there is a BIOS update for your motherboard that deals with this issue. What motherboard is it? Or check the manufacturers web site for information.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •