Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Hard Drive Problems, Wrong Size Reported

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    132
    I have an older pc PII 350 (fujitsu)win98

    It had an 8gig HDD i upgraded it to a 40gig HDD.

    But just got new pc and want to put 40gig in it.

    So the problem is now the older pc thinks the 8gig is an 40gig , i have tried to reformat, but no joy.

    Is it the mobo or is it the HDD.

    Any help please

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    SciManAl's Avatar Hardware guy
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Wichita Kansas
    Posts
    899
    i have no clue if this will effect you, but in some of my older computers, the mobo requires a proprietary hard drive... about the same type as you are describing... it will only acknowledge what it was told at the factory it has, so it would be the mobo...

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Yea I would look in your mobo settings.
    <span style='color:blue'><span style='font-family:Arial'>Msi ms-6330
    Amd Athlon at 1ghz
    896mb Ram pc-133
    Seagate 80gb 7,200 rpm
    Nvidia Geforce MX 420
    21 inch screen
    MSI 52X32X52 CD-RW (cr52-m)
    SoundBlaster 5.1 mp3+
    Creative Labs 5.1 Speakers
    Xp Pro Sp1</span></span>

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    bob_the_alien's Avatar Bob The Alien
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    London, Kentucky
    Age
    37
    Posts
    525
    You might try going to the manufacture&#39;s website (of the hard drive) and download the software for the hard drive, many times it will install a new bios on the hard drive, and then the mobo bios will detect the correct size.
    "Where did he go, George, Where did he go?"


  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,491
    ive had this problem on a old p3 850 of mine. you need to go into the bios and get it to detect the drive its self agian, or another probelm is that you mobo only handles drives upto 8gb (can get tools to get past this though )

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Follow bob&#39;s advice and download the bios replacement from the manufacturers website, they all have them. You also need to remember that Win98 only recognises drives up to 32GB, there is a jumper you can set to limit the drive to this size.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    132
    Thanks i altered my bios on master drive to auto instead of user and that seems to have worked just trying to format now thanks All.

    Cheers

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    132
    I spoke to soon the bios now showa 8gig but pc still shows 40gig.

    I will look for bios flash or something

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Benno's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Birmingham
    Age
    32
    Posts
    2,305
    Originally posted by lynx@11 November 2003 - 23:24
    You also need to remember that Win98 only recognises drives up to 32GB, there is a jumper you can set to limit the drive to this size.


    I have win98se and a 80gig Seagate which runs fine

    is it that win98 just recognises up to 32gig but win98se also bigger ones?

    You Better Keep In Mind That I Can Read Between The Lines


    Never argue with an idiot, they drag you down to there level and beat you with experience!!

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    132
    Benno it the reverse the 40gig works ok but after removal i cant put 8 gig back, unless there is a jumper i need to move to go back down. to 8gig?

    Cheers

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •