Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Splicing Microphone Wire

  1. #1
    Infested Cats's Avatar Mike Victory
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,168
    Hello, I have one of those Mic-Headset deals, where at the end of the cable there are two prongs (one for mic, the other for headphones).

    I wanted to make the mic cable longer... but after I spliced it to another mic wire, it wouldn't work... any ideas?



    EDIT: More Info

    I took the wire from , and spliced it onto the mic end of one of thse: .

    Inside both mic cables, were 2 wires: one encased in a white tubing, the other just copper. So, I just connected the white to white, copper to copper, and assumed that it would work. Plugged it in, tested it out, and nothing. I plugged in a normal mic, and it worked, so it's not like my soundcard is acting up.

    I didn't solder the wires... just used electrical tape.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Age
    36
    Posts
    3,357
    Did you re-connect the original prong or was there one on the cable you added?

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Infested Cats's Avatar Mike Victory
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,168
    Originally posted by callum@11 November 2003 - 19:49
    Did you re-connect the original prong or was there one on the cable you added?
    There was one on the cable i added.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Cats,

    I don't know about your setup, but as I recall, some audio cable is shielded and the shielding acts as a ground (or something). If that isn't spliced also the cable is defunct.

    Maybe?
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Infested Cats's Avatar Mike Victory
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,168
    Originally posted by clocker@11 November 2003 - 19:53
    Cats,

    I don't know about your setup, but as I recall, some audio cable is shielded and the shielding acts as a ground (or something). If that isn't spliced also the cable is defunct.

    Maybe?
    I don't think these wires have shielding cables.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Age
    36
    Posts
    3,357
    You could try splicing the original prong on to the end of the new cable.
    Might make things worse though

    Is there much of a difference in thickness between the two cables?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Infested Cats's Avatar Mike Victory
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,168
    The two cables are exactly the same...

    and clocker, now that I think about it, i think that the wire-tubing i mentioned is sheilded... but I'm not certain.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Okay then.

    If you were to reconnect the original end plug, does it work again?

    Are both those plug ends the same- stereo&stereo or mono&mono?
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    i had the same kinda problem making a lighthouse for my little sister, using audio cables for the power, it was just a bad connection due to the wire, it had some kind of plasticaly material interwoven with the copper.
    if u have a multimeter, check the connection between the cable end and the prong. and also just double check the connection.

    the best way to connect is to split the wire at both ends into a v shape, put the v's together and twist them together, then twist the 2 parts together,#

    that will give a strong connection, also make sure the 2 different wires arent touching.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Infested Cats's Avatar Mike Victory
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,168
    Originally posted by clocker@11 November 2003 - 20:03
    Okay then.

    If you were to reconnect the original end plug, does it work again?

    Are both those plug ends the same- stereo&stereo or mono&mono?
    the plug ends are exactly the same, and I dont know about connecting the original plug... Haven't tried.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •