Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Cdrw Not Being Detected In Windows

  1. #1
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Guatemala
    Posts
    4,097
    ok..... so my LG CDRW is detected in the bios....but its not detected in winxp....any ideas?

    thx
    DWk

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland.
    Posts
    2,005
    Which IDE port is it on? Is it a slave or master drive? Have you set your jumpers correctly? Do you have Tweak UI on your comp, and if you do, have you made sure that your new drive letter is checked? (In tweak UI look under "my computer" and "drives")



  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Guatemala
    Posts
    4,097
    it was working fine one day and the next it just didnt appear.... and yes its set up correctly since i havent moved it from the day i built my computer...and it was running fine....

    and just to answer that question...no i dont use tweakui

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland.
    Posts
    2,005
    When you say it doesn't show up in WinXP, where do you mean, in Explorer\My Computer, or in Device Manager? Or both?



  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Guatemala
    Posts
    4,097
    both..... but it shows in bios

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland.
    Posts
    2,005
    Have you tried disconnecting the drive by pulling the cable out, then starting comp up. Then shut down, reconnect and see if it shows up again.

    Another reason may be that your drive is fucked, it does happen.



  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    bob_the_alien's Avatar Bob The Alien
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    London, Kentucky
    Age
    37
    Posts
    525
    Have you got Plug and Play checked in your services.

    Try "add new hardware" in device manager, if that doesn't work, tyr Billy_Dean's suggestiong of disconnecting the drive, then I'd boot up winodws, then shutdown winodws again, then reconnect the drive, and boot windows up again.
    "Where did he go, George, Where did he go?"


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •