Page 1 of 7 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Fans

clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Two weeks ago I first posted about my new computer.

I was so proud, and, just like any new Daddy, I was showing pictures to anyone who would look.
    Then I dragged you all through the (seemingly) endless permutations in layout and posted all the benchmark/burn-in tests that I could run.

The machine still runs peachy. But...

Lately, the weather has turned a bit nippier and I've had the heat on more. Ambient temps are therefor higher. As expected my case temps also rose a bit. Nothing drastic, mind you, but definately a bit higher.

So I started playing with my super-duper fan control set-up and... basically nothing.
    I then started to turn off the fans one by one.
    Still nothing.

To make a long story short, I have now completely removed all of the fans that I so lovingly installed and spent hours wiring neatly into place. No change.
    Wait, that's not completely true...my HDD temp has skyrocketed all the way up to 28C.
    I am now running with only the fan on my Zalman heatsink and the two fans in my PSU ( and if it wasn't such a pain to do, I would be tempted to disable at least one of those...) and my CPU/motherboard temps have remained dead consistent at 41C/29C.
    Running the burn-in test for 1 hour will raise the CPU temp to 43-44C, then it drops right back down.

I find this somewhat puzzling.
    I went to ALOT of trouble cutting holes and mounting fans, testing airflow and moving/retesting, all apparently to no avail.

Don't get me wrong, I think that 41C is an excellent result for a moderately OCed system that is air cooled.