Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Which VPN do you use?

megabyteme's Avatar RASPBERRY RIPPLE BT Rep: +19BT Rep +19BT Rep +19BT Rep +19
    I believe this will become VERY important to US users as ISPs begin monitoring all customer's traffic. I'm quite uncertain who to use, if they are reliably secure, and who is easiest to setup accounts/ software with.

Please help with any VPN knowledge you have. I know next to nothing about them. Feel free to talk "down" to me as this is something I have never done before.

Thanks!

EDIT- I will specifically be using this with BT, so that is a must-have feature.
    Last edited by megabyteme; 07-03-2012 at 11:22 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by IdolEyes787 View Post
    Ghey lumberjacks, wolverines, blackflies in the summer, polar bears in the winter, that's basically Canada in a nutshell.

2. BitTorrent   -   #2
    manker's Avatar effendi
    A VPN won't stop your ISP seeing what you're downloading. It will only stop your peers and the websites you visit seeing your actual IP address.
    I plan on beating him to death with his kids. I'll use them as a bludgeon on his face. -

--Good for them if they survive.

3. BitTorrent   -   #3
    Which VPN do you use?
    None.

That's obviously not the kind of answer you're looking for, but you'll find this article useful, if slightly dated.

Quote Originally Posted by manker View Post
    A VPN won't stop your ISP seeing what you're downloading.
    It actually should, thanks to encryption. Although middleman attacks are possible.
    "I just remembered something that happened a long time ago."

4. BitTorrent   -   #4
    manker's Avatar effendi
    Quote Originally Posted by anon View Post
    It actually should, thanks to encryption. Although middleman attacks are possible.
    I was wondering about something similar to do with hashes.