Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Zonealarm

  1. #1
    skelley521's Avatar puter ghost
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    824
    Tip for users of zonealarm

    Be warned this phones home every session with no apparent way to stop it...until now :


    Close ZoneAlarm.

    Open up your registry editor.
    Go to the following key:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm
    In the right pane, you will see CfgMain, double click that.

    Use your keyboard's arrow keys to downwards until you reached 0028.
    On line #6 (0028), press the right arrow key 5 times, then hit Backspace.

    After you are done the step above, type 00 on your keyboard.
    Then click OK.

    Restart ZoneAlarm...


    Hope this helps,
    Steve

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Double Agent
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,603
    you mean za can pick up phone and dail?


    just deny za access rights...

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Originally posted by james_bond_rulez@28 November 2003 - 14:14
    you mean za can pick up phone and dail?


    just deny za access rights...
    Oh yeah, just block it with your firewall. Wait a minute?!?!

    ZoneAlarm relays your registration details with ZoneLabs server, this is what is meant by phoning home.


    Nice tip skelley521.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    skelley521's Avatar puter ghost
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    824
    Originally posted by LTJBukem+28 November 2003 - 10:41--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (LTJBukem @ 28 November 2003 - 10:41)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-james_bond_rulez@28 November 2003 - 14:14
    you mean za&nbsp; can pick up phone and dail? &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp;


    just deny za access rights...
    Oh yeah, just block it with your firewall. Wait a minute?&#33;?&#33;

    ZoneAlarm relays your registration details with ZoneLabs server, this is what is meant by phoning home.


    Nice tip skelley521. [/b][/quote]
    Thank You

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    ZaZu's Avatar I know stuff ...
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    1,966
    Originally posted by LTJBukem@28 November 2003 - 08:41
    ZoneAlarm relays your registration details with ZoneLabs server, this is what is meant by phoning home.


    Nice tip skelley521.
    Its ZoneAlarm&#39;s autoupdate that "phones home" I don&#39;t know what you mean by "registration details"

    @skelley521 Thanks

    update: I found that I needed to shut down ZA,apply the fix, reboot in order for this to work


    If you attack the establishment long enough and hard enough, they will make you a member of it.
    -- Art Buchwald --

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    skelley521's Avatar puter ghost
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    824
    Originally posted by ZaZu+28 November 2003 - 13:45--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (ZaZu @ 28 November 2003 - 13:45)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-LTJBukem@28 November 2003 - 08:41
    ZoneAlarm relays your registration details with ZoneLabs server, this is what is meant by phoning home.


    Nice tip skelley521.
    Its ZoneAlarm&#39;s autoupdate that "phones home" I don&#39;t know what you mean by "registration details"

    @skelley521 Thanks

    update: I found that I needed to shut down ZA,apply the fix, reboot in order for this to work [/b][/quote]
    It&#39;s the first line.....next time I will use numbers, but I do see how you could have missed it.



    Close ZoneAlarm.

    Open up your registry editor.
    Go to the following key:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER&#092;Software&#092;Zone Labs&#092;ZoneAlarm
    In the right pane, you will see CfgMain, double click that.

    Use your keyboard&#39;s arrow keys to downwards until you reached 0028.
    On line #6 (0028), press the right arrow key 5 times, then hit Backspace.

    After you are done the step above, type 00 on your keyboard.
    Then click OK.

    Restart ZoneAlarm.

    and your welcome

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    ZaZu's Avatar I know stuff ...
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    1,966
    Originally posted by skelley521@28 November 2003 - 12:23
    It&#39;s the first line.....next time I will use numbers, but I do see how you could have missed it.



    gotta start wearing my glasses when at my &#39;puter


    If you attack the establishment long enough and hard enough, they will make you a member of it.
    -- Art Buchwald --

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    skelley521's Avatar puter ghost
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    824
    Originally posted by ZaZu@28 November 2003 - 14:39

    gotta start wearing my glasses when at my &#39;puter
    LOL.....it&#39;s ok, happens to the best of us B)

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Originally posted by ZaZu@28 November 2003 - 18:45
    Its ZoneAlarm&#39;s autoupdate that "phones home" I don&#39;t know what you mean by "registration details"
    What i mean by "registration details" is the details used in registration.

    My understanding is that when ZoneAlarm Pro checks for updates, it verifies the users subscription by relaying said data with ZoneLabs server.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Wolfmight's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Location: Location:
    Posts
    5,873
    I just payed for zone alarm pro.. no worrys here
    (copy came with my router).. official license

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •