Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Geforce Fx 5200 Pci

  1. #1
    Mr. Mulder's Avatar pepper your angus BT Rep: +10BT Rep +10
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Vault 111
    Age
    31
    Posts
    30,944
    A couple of days ago I bought a graphics card (*see sig*) and was wondering if its considered to be a good card? Before that I was useing a Prophet MX 400 for quite some time. When I bought the 5200 it came with Splinter Cell, which wouldn't run untill I d/l the 52.16 driver. And now It does play but stutters quite a bit (probably because i'm playing it in 800x600 rez. ...I paid about 70 for it.

    Does anyone else have this card, got anything good to say about it?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    It does play but stutters quite a bit (probably because i'm playing it in 800x600 rez. ...


    I dont know man, i think you should have gotten your self an AGP version because they are faster and run much cooler.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Mr. Mulder's Avatar pepper your angus BT Rep: +10BT Rep +10
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Vault 111
    Age
    31
    Posts
    30,944
    really ...I've been useing the same crt for 5 years, couldn't that be the problem?

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,491
    both the monitor and your pci graphics card are to blame, you really should have got a agp version

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Mr. Mulder's Avatar pepper your angus BT Rep: +10BT Rep +10
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Vault 111
    Age
    31
    Posts
    30,944
    Would a new monitor with a higher rez help or make a difference? ...It's too late for an AGP...

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,491
    Originally posted by Arcadia@29 November 2003 - 19:37
    Would a new monitor with a higher rez help or make a difference? ...It's too late for an AGP...
    yes it will help, did you have these problems before the graphics upgrade? maybe the graphics card is dodgey

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Mr. Mulder's Avatar pepper your angus BT Rep: +10BT Rep +10
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Vault 111
    Age
    31
    Posts
    30,944
    It's a new base unit and had on board graphics, I bought the card on the same day.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,491
    i just loked at your specs again....

    you've only got 128mb ram? (get some more if that is the case....) and try lowering/ increasing the refresh rate through display propaties (that might help)

    Edit: did you disable your onboard one through your bios?

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Mr. Mulder's Avatar pepper your angus BT Rep: +10BT Rep +10
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Vault 111
    Age
    31
    Posts
    30,944
    Edit: did you disable your onboard one through your bios?
    I don't know what that means?

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,491
    Originally posted by Arcadia@29 November 2003 - 20:01
    Edit: did you disable your onboard one through your bios?
    I don't know what that means?
    you said in your previous post that your motherboard had on board graphics. when you installed your new pci graphics card, did you disable it through the bios (basic input output system)

    if not, heres how to do it....

    1) press del or F8 (depending on your pc) while your pc is booting up (on the screen where it detects memory etc

    2) find the option to disable the graphics card in the bios

    3) save and exit

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •