Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Bios

  1. #1
    Duffman's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,130
    ok well im getting an xbox for christmas and i was looking at mod chips, (spare the legality issues as the one im looking at is legal) and i was thinking some of them have 1 and 2mb bios, how large would the bios have to be to support something like windows 3.1 or 98 or even xp
    ...

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    It's not the BIOS that supports an OS. It's the whole structure of a computer that does.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Originally posted by Virtualbody1234@8 December 2003 - 21:34
    It's not the BIOS that supports an OS. It's the whole structure of a computer that does.
    Indeed.

    When I remove my sidepanels, XP crashes.
    Not enough support, apparently.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,563
    BIOS = Basic Input Output Setup

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Originally posted by clocker+8 December 2003 - 23:39--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (clocker @ 8 December 2003 - 23:39)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-Virtualbody1234@8 December 2003 - 21:34
    It&#39;s not the BIOS that supports an OS. It&#39;s the whole structure of a computer that does.
    Indeed.

    When I remove my sidepanels, XP crashes.
    Not enough support, apparently. [/b][/quote]
    My desk structure supports my computer.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    You are right, as usual, VB.
    So does mine.

    Maybe removing the panels causes a "memory leak"?
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    i heard that it supports unix hee hee

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Originally posted by clocker@8 December 2003 - 23:51
    You are right, as usual, VB.
    So does mine.

    Maybe removing the panels causes a "memory leak"?
    Oh. I didn&#39;t know you had installed your watercooling yet.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •