Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Nforce 3

  1. #1
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    Hey is Nforce 3 a newer version of Nforce 2? Is it worth the extra money..whats the diff? Im not seeing any boards with this
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    NVM...its for the new amds..you can close this if ya want lol
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    yeah, nforce 3 is for amd64 chips. an not socket a boards

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    RGX's Avatar Unstoppable
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    3,072
    And boy do i want one, anyone here thinking of going 64?

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Ill probably think about getting a 64 bit cpu after the technology has improved a bit.

    I think it too early to be getting one.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    i was thinking about going amd 64 next april or may, but i'll wait and see what the support's like then (hardware-wise)
    <span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>BLAH</span>

    <span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>Wayne Rooney - A thug and a thief</span>

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Originally posted by 3rd gen noob@16 December 2003 - 06:39
    i was thinking about going amd 64 next april or may, but i&#39;ll wait and see what the support&#39;s like then (hardware-wise)
    I don&#39;t think that hardware will be the bottleneck.
    How quickly ( and effectively) the compatable software is available will be my deciding factor.
    Even though MS says that the 64 bit Windows will be out in Feb/March, I&#39;d hate to have all the hardware sitting at the ready and have the software be a disappointment.
    Which never happens, does it?
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Guatemala
    Posts
    4,097
    i still dont get the diff between 32 and 64-bit (talking about differences in software)

    anyone care to explain?

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    Originally posted by DWk@16 December 2003 - 14:55
    i still dont get the diff between 32 and 64-bit (talking about differences in software)

    anyone care to explain?
    the architecture, its implies to the bus the cpu is on, at the moment it is 32bits wide, but if it was twice as wide, 64bit, u can get alot more data through. thats some of it anyway. and you need a 64bit os for it to work since the cpus are diff.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    I believe that essentially we&#39;re talking about how big a chunk of data the chip can manage in one bite.
    Bigger mouth (64bit), more intake.
    I know that the new chips will run 32bit software so that&#39;s not a problem. It&#39;s just a question of long it will take for the bulk of software to be written to optimise the new technology.
    Probably at least a year or two, I&#39;m guessing...
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •