Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Switchable Fan Voltage

  1. #1
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    If, like me, you have either a lot of fans running or just a few but a need to change the speed upon occasion, here's an easy way to do it.
    I don't have the space for a whole gang of rheostats ( variable speed controllers) and anyway I don't really need to fine tune each fans speed. I want them all spinning fast or slow. This method will achieve the level of control I need with just one switch.
    Some of you may find it useful if your PC is in your bedroom to mute the fan noise at night...
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    nice one, cheap easy way to do it.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,012
    Originally posted by clocker@16 December 2003 - 21:18
    here's an easy way to do it.
    Still don't get your link implying. I think the best way is to vacuum the fan and lubricate it so that noise will be smooth in operation.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    Originally posted by camille+16 December 2003 - 14:51--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (camille @ 16 December 2003 - 14:51)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-clocker@16 December 2003 - 21:18
    here&#39;s an easy way to do it.
    Still don&#39;t get your link implying. I think the best way is to vacuum the fan and lubricate it so that noise will be smooth in operation. [/b][/quote]
    it lowers the fan voltage so it will run slower, thus less noise.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Hmmm, this looks familiar.


  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Originally posted by Virtualbody1234@16 December 2003 - 08:54
    Hmmm, this looks familiar.

    Your method didn&#39;t have the switch.
    I don&#39;t claim to be breaking new ground here, just bumping older, still worthy topics to the fore.
    The fact that many of these were originally yours does you great credit.

    Imitation being the sincerest form blah, blah, blah...
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    It&#39;s cool. The whole point is to inform. Right?

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    I&#39;ve got temp sensors that automatically switch the voltage, at least in theory it lets my fans go just as fast as needed.

    Isn&#39;t there a risk of overheating if you start doing these things maunally, with switches?

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    For me, the main advantage of making this switchable is that I can change in the middle of a stress test and see what (if any) affect it has. I also currently have my fans ganged onto two different switches so I can create cooling zones in effect.
    Probably after I&#39;m done experimenting (like that will ever happen&#33 I would just hardwire everything to the voltage that is best.

    Adjusting your voltage manually is certainly no riskier than placing your faith in some device which supposedly will do it for you.
    What happens if that goes AWOL?
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    Fair point that, though I think it&#39;s set to go to maximum if it breaks down.

    I&#39;ll have to investigate

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •