Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Installing New Memory.

  1. #1
    mogadishu's Avatar {}"_++()_><.,{}}[":+
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,759
    Hey, I&#39;m trying to help a friend install some more memory into his compaq system that he purchased 3 years ago. He just installed win 2000 and is using 64MB of ram, which is obviously not enough. Im pretty sure that he needs pc66 or pc100 sdram, but Im sure there are people here that would know this. Thanks.

    Mogadishu.
    signature removed, check the boardrules.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    Originally posted by mogadishu@17 December 2003 - 02:48
    Hey, I&#39;m trying to help a friend install some more memory into his compaq system that he purchased 3 years ago. He just installed win 2000 and is using 64MB of ram, which is obviously not enough. Im pretty sure that he needs pc66 or pc100 sdram, but Im sure there are people here that would know this. Thanks.

    Mogadishu.
    WTF?

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    abu_has_the_power's Avatar I have cool stars
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,503
    hey man. wat up. i havn&#39;t cn u post in a while.

    about ur mem q, 3 year old pc will prob use pc66. i know for sure anything over pc100 didn&#39;t work on my 4 year old hp.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    can you find out the motherboard model number (either by view or by an application (such as Belarc))?

    it&#39;s probably going to turn out being PC100 ram though
    <span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>BLAH</span>

    <span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>Wayne Rooney - A thug and a thief</span>

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    mogadishu's Avatar {}"_++()_><.,{}}[":+
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,759
    All it said was the motherboard was a compaq... nothing else.. so would it be safe to get pc66, cus its backward compatable
    signature removed, check the boardrules.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    go here, http://www.crucial.com and use there memory selector, using compaq and his model series/number

    edit: do you even get pc66 now, go for pc133 since it backwards compatabile with pc 133. and cheaper than pc100 usually,

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    mogadishu's Avatar {}"_++()_><.,{}}[":+
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,759
    thanks livy, that was a really good link.
    signature removed, check the boardrules.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •