Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Agp Appeture Size

  1. #1
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    should i set this to the size of the memory on my agp card? the manual doesnt have much bios options in it.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,012
    AGP Accelerated Graphics Port. You don't have to coz your CPU will adjust the necessary default of your card.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    Originally posted by clocker@17 December 2003 - 23:36
    Look here and learn.
    thanks clocker, i just had a look there before you posted,

    i should use google before i post sometimes,

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    That second link is the most thorough explanation of BIOS settings that I've run across so far.
    It'll help you make decisions on a lot of the more obscure BIOS options.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Very interesting, clocker.

    I have some more reading to do.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Clocker, although well meant, your first link points to a site which (along with many others) misunderstands the question.

    AGP aperture size is nothing to do with the amount of memory used for mapping or anything else. That is controlled completely by the drivers and uses conventional memory.

    The AGP aperture size is the size of the interface used to communicate with the AGP card. It is not associated with real memory (if you look at the memory ranges used in the device's resource details, you will see that they are way outside conventional memory ranges).

    In some ways, it is similar to the memory ranges used by some early high performance cards when the memory address had to be below 16MB. There was a necessity to open a memory hole for these cards to use. However, the only reason for the current setting of memory size is to determine how much resource should be used (remembering that more resource means more resource management).
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •