Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Ddr 2

  1. #1
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    Hey, ok I hear alot about this DDR2. On tomshardware.com it says you should expect to see them in late 2003. Will this require a new motherboard and everything to use it. because im fixing to purchase parts for my new computer and am wondering if i should wait for DDR2 and how much better it would be and if i will have to buy a diff mobo to support it.
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    also, say that my FSB of my CPU (2500XP) runs at 333Mhz, then does my memory run at the same speed as the CPU? And so if i overclocked it to a 200Mhz, or 400Mhz FSB (x2) then the memory would run at 400Mhz
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Originally posted by bigdawgfoxx@20 December 2003 - 12:47
    also, say that my FSB of my CPU (2500XP) runs at 333Mhz, then does my memory run at the same speed as the CPU? And so if i overclocked it to a 200Mhz, or 400Mhz FSB (x2) then the memory would run at 400Mhz
    That depends on your BIOS settings, I think.
    My BIOS allows me to set my memory at different percentages of my FSB (both faster or slower).
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    Oh, ok. Isn't it best to have them both the same though? Thats what I heard.
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Originally posted by bigdawgfoxx@20 December 2003 - 18:54
    Oh, ok. Isn't it best to have them both the same though? Thats what I heard.
    yes
    <span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>BLAH</span>

    <span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>Wayne Rooney - A thug and a thief</span>

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    noones answered my first question...lol
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    is there a way to figure out wat type of memory you have in windoz? like pc2700 and shit?

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Originally posted by TheFilePirater@20 December 2003 - 19:28
    is there a way to figure out wat type of memory you have in windoz? like pc2700 and shit?
    the easiest method is just to look at the ram
    most of the time it&#39;ll have a small sticker on it denoting size, speed and occasionally cas latency
    <span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>BLAH</span>

    <span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>Wayne Rooney - A thug and a thief</span>

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Main diffs between ddr & ddr2 - higher speed (up to 667MHz atm), lower voltage.
    The result is higher performance without extra heat.

    Summary (pdf)
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Originally posted by bigdawgfoxx@20 December 2003 - 13:19
    noones answered my first question...lol
    That&#39;s because I am not familiar with the technology.
    Personally, I think that if you are always waiting for the latest and greatest tech to be released that you&#39;ll effectively be paralyzed.
    How expensive will this stuff be?
    How long till you can actually buy it?
    How much better is it supposed to be?
    What&#39;s the real world advantage?
    How long are you willing to wait to find all this stuff out?

    Basically, no matter what you buy, or how much you spend, you&#39;re still obsolete by the time you get home.
    Get used to it.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •