Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 20 123411 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 194

Thread: Ram Ratios

  1. #1
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    Hey! My first question is what exactly is the RAM to CPU ratio thing? I will have a 2500XP Barton at 333Mhz FSB and PC3200 Ram. What setting should I run this on the have the memory run at like 333Mhz for good syncrozanation. Wouldnt the ram running at 333Mhz be the best? What exactly is this ratio. Also when I overclock my cpu to 200X11 what should the CPU:RAM be? 1:1 since they will both have the same FSB?

    ALSO which should I get?
    *Corsair XMS 2-3-2-6 PC3200 2X256MB, or
    *Mushkin 2-2-2-6 PC3200 Level II 2X256MB?
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    I like Mushkin ( it's made here in Denver&#33.

    Run your chip and RAM synchronized.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,012
    I like corsair, it's more popular in the market.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    Yeah I know to run it syncronized, but with my CPU running at 333Mhz and my ram running at 400Mhz how will I make the ram run at 333Mhz? Once I can boost it up to 200X11 then I can just leave it at 400Mhz
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Originally posted by bigdawgfoxx@21 December 2003 - 21:01
    Hey! My first question is what exactly is the RAM to CPU ratio thing? I will have a 2500XP Barton at 333Mhz FSB and PC3200 Ram. What setting should I run this on the have the memory run at like 333Mhz for good syncrozanation. Wouldnt the ram running at 333Mhz be the best? What exactly is this ratio. Also when I overclock my cpu to 200X11 what should the CPU:RAM be? 1:1 since they will both have the same FSB?

    ALSO which should I get?
    *Corsair XMS 2-3-2-6 PC3200 2X256MB, or
    *Mushkin 2-2-2-6 PC3200 Level II 2X256MB?
    Are they the same price?

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Originally posted by bigdawgfoxx@21 December 2003 - 21:22
    Yeah I know to run it syncronized, but with my CPU running at 333Mhz and my ram running at 400Mhz how will I make the ram run at 333Mhz? Once I can boost it up to 200X11 then I can just leave it at 400Mhz
    Is it running at 400 or is it rated 400 ?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    Same price...well Corsair is 135 and Mushkin is 133
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    Well its PC3200...so I figured it ran at 400Mhz...
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Originally posted by bigdawgfoxx@21 December 2003 - 21:26
    Well its PC3200...so I figured it ran at 400Mhz...
    No, the rating doesn't mean that its running at 400.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    well then what does it mean? And how fast will it run???
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

Page 1 of 20 123411 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •