Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Which Memory Do I Get?

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    38
    i have an old hp 500mhz computer that only has 128mb of ram and i was wondering what kind of memory do i need to buy. I'm so confused with all these DDR and SDRAM and PC100 and PC133 stuff. Some please help me

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Skeptic's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    104
    Lamsey has a good RAM guide that you might want to look at here.

    Other details will be helpful tho ... like the model # of your machine .... If you have that, you might just be lucky enough to find what you need on the HP support website.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    _John_Lennon_'s Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Strawberry Fields
    Posts
    1,177
    500Mhz.... Hmm, its probably either EDO or SD-Ram.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    *Grunt*
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Newcastle, United Kingdom
    Posts
    867
    It will be SD ram if its a 500mhz and it will probably have a 100 mhz bus so it'll probably be able to manage 512 of pc100

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    _John_Lennon_'s Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Strawberry Fields
    Posts
    1,177
    Originally posted by Neo 721@28 December 2003 - 16:41
    It will be SD ram if its a 500mhz and it will probably have a 100 mhz bus so it'll probably be able to manage 512 of pc100
    Yeah, probably.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    bob_the_alien's Avatar Bob The Alien
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    London, Kentucky
    Age
    37
    Posts
    525
    Originally posted by Neo 721@28 December 2003 - 15:41
    It will be SD ram if its a 500mhz and it will probably have a 100 mhz bus so it'll probably be able to manage 512 of pc100
    My old PII 333 mhz system went up to 1 gb ram, so he could probably get more than 512 in it. However, if you start buying ram like that, you'd most likely end up being better off just getting a new mobo, CPU and ram.

    But your probably right most likely 100, when did 133 come out? Had someone actually ask me that the other day, they wanted to know what to put in a system with a PIII 500 mhz cpu. Didn't know when PC133 came along, so I told them they could go with PC100, it would work, but if it's PC133 it would underclock it, the guy didn't really seem to care if it underclocked it or not.
    That would be sacrilegious to me though, underclocking, might as well just shoot me now, rather than do that to my pc.
    "Where did he go, George, Where did he go?"


  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    step 1: use this program to identify what type of RAM you already have--
    http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php

    step 2: buy more of the same.


  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    wot a nice little program

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    I would say PC100
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    fucking smurfland y'idjit
    Posts
    760
    Originally posted by bigdawgfoxx@29 December 2003 - 16:34
    I would say PC100
    I would say PC133 and clock the fuck out of it.

    Motherboard permitting, of course.
    if your font size is this small i'll add you to my ignore list because you're wasting my time, OK?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •