Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Reformat Hd

  1. #1
    Hey, how can I reformat my entire hard drive, when I just right click and say reformat it says there are always processes using it and it can not reformat, I also do not know how to boot into dos from XP so i can't that way either. and it's XP pro if that makes any difference
    thanks
    Kai
    Q6600 @ 3.42Ghz | Gigabyte EP35-DS3R | EVGA 8800GT 721/1802/2006 w/ Accelero S1 | 4gb Crucial DDR2 @ 760mhz | 750gb Hitachi 7k1000 | Corsair 520HX | 2 x Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" | Windows 7 Ultimate

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    908
    Make sure you have your bios to boot from cd first then put in xp cd. It should boot to the cd and I think there is a option for a fresh install.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    yes I have done that before, but that does not actually remove all your files, as I did that and still have over 10 gigs used
    is there any other way?
    Q6600 @ 3.42Ghz | Gigabyte EP35-DS3R | EVGA 8800GT 721/1802/2006 w/ Accelero S1 | 4gb Crucial DDR2 @ 760mhz | 750gb Hitachi 7k1000 | Corsair 520HX | 2 x Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" | Windows 7 Ultimate

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Originally posted by kaiweiler@31 December 2003 - 09:12
    yes I have done that before, but that does not actually remove all your files, as I did that and still have over 10 gigs used
    is there any other way?
    If you chose the option to format before the install then it should have wiped your HDD clean.
    Are you sure you didn't just "upgrade" over your old OS?
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    i had XP pro before, but i reinstalled it again for the soul purpose of clearing my HD, and it didn't
    is there any other way, or should i try this again?
    Q6600 @ 3.42Ghz | Gigabyte EP35-DS3R | EVGA 8800GT 721/1802/2006 w/ Accelero S1 | 4gb Crucial DDR2 @ 760mhz | 750gb Hitachi 7k1000 | Corsair 520HX | 2 x Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" | Windows 7 Ultimate

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    put the CD in, then reboot. It will ask you if you want to reformat and click yes. Reformat it and it should start again..with mine it always still has that partition, and i always have to format TWICE. So maybe do it again. then it installs windows and all is good.
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    bob_the_alien's Avatar Bob The Alien
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    London, Kentucky
    Age
    37
    Posts
    525
    If for some strange reason you cannot get the windows cd to do a complete reformat of the drive, just go to bootdisk.com and download a Dos boot disk, then you can reformat using dos.
    "Where did he go, George, Where did he go?"


  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    Yeah once you boot up in dos type in format C: then it will ask you to confirm and press y and enter.
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Halifax,Nova Scotia Canada
    Posts
    476
    Originally posted by bigdawgfoxx@31 December 2003 - 17:49
    Yeah once you boot up in dos type in format C: then it will ask you to confirm and press y and enter.
    Actually you just download the windows XP boot discs and then boot from them.It will give you an option to repair,reinstall or format and then install.
    Gigabyte GA7-VT600 P-L
    Athlon XP2500+ @ 3200+
    512mb OCZ DDR333 (2,3,3,7)
    Samsung SP8004h 80gig harddrive
    Radeon 9200 128 mb
    LG cdrw/dvd drive

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    alright folks, thanks for your help
    its all set now

    <CLOSED>
    Q6600 @ 3.42Ghz | Gigabyte EP35-DS3R | EVGA 8800GT 721/1802/2006 w/ Accelero S1 | 4gb Crucial DDR2 @ 760mhz | 750gb Hitachi 7k1000 | Corsair 520HX | 2 x Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" | Windows 7 Ultimate

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •