Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Xp Boot Problem

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    481
    When i boot up my pc it go thought the bios boot stage and then the windows XP starts to load. then 4 some reason it stops and the blue bar thet goes across yhe bpttem of the screen STOPS . It frezzes 4 around 3 mins then it contuines to load XP. ive used boot vis but it still does the same thing :helpsmile:

    my pc works fine its just that it takes up 5min somtimes to boot up from cold..

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Regular Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    935
    i think DWK will help out here

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    481
    Who is DWK??

    where R U DWK i need help!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Regular Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    935
    dwk from what i have seen in this area is very familiar with xp he seems to post when ever there is prob with boot up...i could be a bit false with my claims about him...he seems helpfulk and knowledgeable of xp

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    neevakee's Avatar the bad spelller BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Fallout shelter
    Posts
    617
    Originally posted by foot loose@1 January 2004 - 14:02
    Who is DWK??

    where R U DWK i need help!!!!!!!!!!!
    no DWK is a member who knows this stuff very well and can help you. He normally isn't on for a few more hours so wait till then.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    481
    i already pm him im just waitin 4 a reply

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Guatemala
    Posts
    4,097
    hello...

    sry for not being around, but had to attend some things.

    ok i had that problem before... even though im a guy that likes his computer completely clean and fast (well not like EXTREMELY....just fast enuff), whenever i get a problem like this i format my computer. However, if im not mistaken by my memory, i changed something in the registry and this fixed the problem (temporarily, at least). Either way, its a problem that can be turned back if you have other problems (or doesnt fix your problem).

    ok. its got to do with pagefile:

    pagefile

    In storage, a pagefile is a reserved portion of a hard disk that is used as an extension of random access memory (RAM) for data in RAM that hasn't been used recently. A pagefile can be read from the hard disk as one contiguous chunk of data and thus faster than re-reading data from many different original locations. Windows NT administrators or users can reset the system-provided default size value of the pagefile to meet their particular needs.
    In other operating systems, the pagefile is called a swap file or a swap partition.
    source

    so here's what you gotta do to clear the pagefile on shutdown

    Clear Pagefile at shutdown
    Windows does not clear the pagefile when the computer is shutdown, and for a computer with lots of users and documents, it becomes risky if the pagefile is not cleared once on a while. This tweak will help you solve this problem

    Click on START > RUN > and type REGEDIT

    1. Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM
    CURRENTCONTROLSET\CONTROL\
    SESSION MANAGER\MEMORY MANAGEMENT
    2. Double click on ClearPageFileAtShutdown and change the value to 1
    3. Exit the registry and restart your PC
    source


    let us know if it works

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Regular Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    935
    there you are the helpful DWK at work!

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Guatemala
    Posts
    4,097
    hehe just my grain of sand in the world of contribution

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    481
    dwk i did what u said and now instead of the xp start up page (with the bar at the bottom of the screen) frezzing for 5mins it only frezzed for 1min the it started booting up as usual

    well its faster than b 4 but still not perfect

    thanks

    anymore wisdom u would like 2 share

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •