Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: My Computer Is 2yrs Old

  1. #1
    My cmp is 2yrs old and I feel like I made some purchasing boo boos
    Help me and tell me where I went wrong or

    Tell me what should I upgrade first?
    *I can still play all the new games without ANY problems*

    Pe4 2.ghz
    x-86
    assus tek P4B
    512mb SDRAM
    LG DVD ROM
    Plextor 40x12x40
    maxtor 60gigs
    WD 80 gigs
    SyncMaster 753df
    Cannon s300(printer)
    300ATX case w/powersupply
    nvida GeForce 4mx440
    sound avance AC'97 audio

    minus the 80 gig WD I bought the rest at a cmp show and put it together
    in total it cost me over 2grand.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Your laffing you got a good mobo. First off read your motherboard book see what your Cpu goes up to its probaly 3.2 or something. Then you just upgrade your chip. Like I said your lafffing dude

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    1,294
    upgrade the Videocard to a 9600 XT or 9800 XT the sound card to use a little bump as well and go with DDR Ram and you'd be fine. the MX doesn't support the proper shaders that newer games are going to and you'd still being doing good by today standards in about another year your gonna need to upgrade your CPU tho around Q1 05

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Originally posted by Pitbul@1 January 2004 - 17:53
    upgrade the Videocard to a 9600 XT or 9800 XT the sound card to use a little bump as well and go with DDR Ram and you'd be fine. the MX doesn't support the proper shaders that newer games are going to and you'd still being doing good by today standards in about another year your gonna need to upgrade your CPU tho around Q1 05
    Yes hes right video can make sll the difference but if your not a gamer well!!! Hell help me Dwk or Bigdog lol

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    thx

    but does my mobo support ddr mem or do I have to get
    a whole new mobo.

    Or should I just add more sdram I have a 4gig capacity

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Sorry dont mean to be rude but did you google that?




    So you read your mobo book?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    GCNaddict's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    riiiiight.
    Posts
    269
    Originally posted by trillscout@2 January 2004 - 01:36
    Pe4 2.ghz

    512mb SDRAM

    LG DVD ROM

    maxtor 60gigs

    nvida GeForce 4mx440

    sound avance AC'97 audio
    1st, for the processor, up it to a p4 2.4c and OC it

    2nd, what kind of ram do u have? im not sure what ur mobo supports, so look it up, but get the

    3rd, wait a few months, and get a DVD burner

    4th, how fast's the HDD? if u can, go to a raptor (or jump to a 76gb 1500rpm scsi. )

    5th, up the gfx the gf4 is crap!

    6th: get a sb audigy 2 (or extigy if u dont want 2 crowd ur slots)

    arranged in order: processor, ram, optical, hdd, gfx, sound

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Keikan's Avatar ........
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Edmonton (Not Enfield)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,771
    Graphic card thats it.
    Ohh noo!!! I make dribbles!!!

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Tormentor's Avatar Searching The People
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Kelowna, B.C Canada
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,231
    Originally posted by GCNaddict@1 January 2004 - 20:23
    5th, up the gfx the gf4 is crap!
    You really need to shut the fuck. Have you ever owned a gf4 mx 440?? If you have and you had problems with it thats not anyones problem. I have had my gf4 mx 440 for a while and I have had no problems playing even the newer games like call of duty,halo,battlefield,kotor etc. and with good graphics. And mine is INTEGRATED I tell you integrated!
    - Unleash The Power Of The Wii, Unlock It Today!
    http://www.castabet.net

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    _John_Lennon_'s Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Strawberry Fields
    Posts
    1,177
    Originally posted by Tormentor+2 January 2004 - 01:33--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (Tormentor @ 2 January 2004 - 01:33)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-GCNaddict@1 January 2004 - 20:23
    5th, up the gfx the gf4 is crap&#33;
    You really need to shut the fuck. Have you ever owned a gf4 mx 440?? If you have and you had problems with it thats not anyones problem. I have had my gf4 mx 440 for a while and I have had no problems playing even the newer games like call of duty,halo,battlefield,kotor etc. and with good graphics. [/b][/quote]
    Same here, the G4 MX is an excellant budget card, of yesterday now though.

    Also, the G4&#39;s, are really a good bargain these days.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •