Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Advice On New Pc Setup

  1. #1
    I'm thinking of building myself a new pc i've got these parts down so far:

    MOTHERBOARD: ASUS A7N8X-Deluxe 2.0
    CPU: AMD ATHLON 2500+
    RAM: OEM 512mb (3200)
    FAN: AERO 7 LITE
    HD: SEAGATE BARRACUDA 7200.7 120GB S-ATA
    CD RW/DVD: MSI 48x/24x/48x/16x Combo

    Does anyone have any comments on this setup?
    Also, i've got a case at the moment with only 250w power supply, i'm thinking this wont be enough

    any help is appreciated, cheers

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    abu_has_the_power's Avatar I have cool stars
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,503
    Originally posted by adam_tomlinson@2 January 2004 - 15:31
    I'm thinking of building myself a new pc i've got these parts down so far:

    MOTHERBOARD: ASUS A7N8X-Deluxe 2.0
    CPU: AMD ATHLON 2500+
    RAM: OEM 512mb (3200)
    FAN: AERO 7 LITE
    HD: SEAGATE BARRACUDA 7200.7 120GB S-ATA
    CD RW/DVD: MSI 48x/24x/48x/16x Combo

    Does anyone have any comments on this setup?
    Also, i've got a case at the moment with only 250w power supply, i'm thinking this wont be enough

    any help is appreciated, cheers
    not bad. get the aero 7+. lite is aluminum i believe. and ur setup is pretty good. 250 watt won't be enough. at least 400W. and wat graphx card r u getting?

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    thanks, I am going to use my Geforce2 until i can afford a new graphics card.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    abu_has_the_power's Avatar I have cool stars
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,503
    Originally posted by adam_tomlinson@2 January 2004 - 15:40
    thanks, I am going to use my Geforce2 until i can afford a new graphics card.
    that card will severly lower ur pc's specs. get a better card

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    i'd love to if i had the money, but i'll have to make do with it for a month or so

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    Unless you game a lot, or are a benchmark freak then the card you have will do you fine..for now. Once you get enough money the first thing you should do is by a new graphics card though, PLEASE dont ask which card to get. If you want to spend under $200 get a Nvidia FX5900SE $180. If you can spend $40 more then get the ATI Radeon 9700Pro $220. PLEASE DONT ARGUE THESE. I THINK MOST OF US CAN AGREE ON THIS AND LETS NOT TALK MORE ABOUT GRAPHICS CARDS.

    Everything else on that system looks Great. Go with ABUs comment on the cooler, because I dont know much about them. Also I would say at least a 420Watt Power supply.
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Guatemala
    Posts
    4,097
    Originally posted by bigdawgfoxx@2 January 2004 - 13:46
    If you want to spend under $200 get a Nvidia FX5900SE $180. If you can spend $40 more then get the ATI Radeon 9700Pro $220. PLEASE DONT ARGUE THESE. I THINK MOST OF US CAN AGREE ON THIS AND LETS NOT TALK MORE ABOUT GRAPHICS CARDS.
    agree on what? on prices? uhhhh yea i guess prices aren't agreeable....

    although regular 5900 (better than 5900se) is 200

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    setup looks good, but dont get oem ram, go with any name brand one (kingston, corsair, crucial. there all good ones). and a 5900se would go nice with that setup. and your gonna want to get at least a 420 watt like bigdawg said. actually even a 350watt would be ok. go with what you can afford tho.
    Gaint Antispyware is the #1 greatest Spyware/Adware cleaner ever created, I recomend it to everybody, even if you don't think you need it.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    If you get the AMD Athlon 2500+ retail box version then you could use the supplied cooler and save a bit of money (it's also quite a good cooler). The retail box version also has a better warranty.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    abu_has_the_power's Avatar I have cool stars
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,503
    Originally posted by Virtualbody1234@2 January 2004 - 16:22
    If you get the AMD Athlon 2500+ retail box version then you could use the supplied cooler and save a bit of money (it's also quite a good cooler). The retail box version also has a better warranty.
    yea. that's a good idea too. but if ur ocing ur cpu, which u prob should, u can stick with the stock or get a better hsf.


    btw, i guess a 350W Psu would work too. is ur case standard ATX?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •