Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Athlon Xp 2600+ Barton

  1. #1
    Anybody got one of these and overclocked it? I just bought my new pc (built an upgrade from my old drives, got rid of my p3 1ghz).

    Athlon XP 2600+ Barton
    Abit NF7 2.0
    512mb 3200 RAM

    I actually thought i was buying a 2600 tbred, but today when i checked the clock speed and compared it to the 2600 barton, it matched! Then, after checking a program to be sure, yep! It's a barton! Very nice suprise.

    So, my question is. Has anyone here overclocked one of these? I read from a review that the 2600 can go up to 3500 speeds

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Firstly, there is no such thing as the 3500 CPU from AMD.

    However, several members of this forum have been successful overclocking their 2500+ to 11X200 to 2200 MHz, so I am sure your CPU is just as capable. I am not sure what your multiplier is. Wait until John_Lennon, bigdawgfoxx, or clocker replies.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    My 2600+ T-bred runs just fine at 200x11.5 with the memory synchronous.
    The chip will run even faster but my memory won't unless I throttle it back, and I don't see the point.
    I didn't even have to raise the Vcore so my temps stayed reasonable.
    You should easily be able to achieve similar results...just keep close watch on chip temps.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Originally posted by adamp2p@9 January 2004 - 21:07
    Firstly, there is no such thing as the 3500 CPU from AMD.

    However, several members of this forum have been successful overclocking their 2500+ to 11X200 to 2200 MHz, so I am sure your CPU is just as capable. I am not sure what your multiplier is. Wait until John_Lennon, bigdawgfoxx, or clocker replies.
    Yes, i know there is no such thing as a 3500, but its equivalent to the power of it if it did exist.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Lithuania, Marijampole
    Posts
    76
    Pentium 4 HT rules!

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    Way to chim in with some stupid bullshit...

    I have my 2500XP up at 200X11. I'm sure you can get that or even higher, but as clocker said watch you temps! Good luck
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Also, what kind of cooling do you use to keep the temperatures down. I was looking at some thermaltake heatsink fans and case fans, just wondering what you got and what temperatures you hover around.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    fucking smurfland y'idjit
    Posts
    760
    Originally posted by Explosive@9 January 2004 - 14:45
    Pentium 4 HT rules!
    Uh-huh.

    if your font size is this small i'll add you to my ignore list because you're wasting my time, OK?

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    _John_Lennon_'s Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Strawberry Fields
    Posts
    1,177
    Originally posted by tHe LiNk@9 January 2004 - 16:13
    Also, what kind of cooling do you use to keep the temperatures down. I was looking at some thermaltake heatsink fans and case fans, just wondering what you got and what temperatures you hover around.
    I have a thermaltake 11+ XASER edition, and it keeps in the 40's on full speed its a bit loud, unless you take off the stupid Silver fan guard. Then its quiet enough for me. But with it on it sounds like a vaccum cleaner.

    Also, with the 2600+'s You can easily do the 11.5 x 200 easily most of the time. The processor is easily capable of it.

    Its built on the same core as the 2500+'s that everyone uses, so that doesnt mean that you will be able to squeeze 100more mHz because its clocked that higher to start with. However, its more inclinced to handle those Mhz as a rule.

    Also, the 3400+, and 3500+ are just ratings based on a scale using the current barton/clawhammer clocks.

    There are fans that are rated up to 3400+, those two are going on a simple sketch of what a 3400+ would be.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    I just use the stock AMD cooler, and it keeps it like 45 full load.
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •