Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Amd Athlon 2200+, 2500+, And 2800+ Xp

  1. #1
    Double Agent
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,603
    so i got some amd cpus to play around. which one is best for overclocking on my old ga-7vax gigabyte board with some serious cooling

    i heard 2500 is good for oc to 3600??!!! is that true, will the 2800 oc like that?

    let's see... unlock the cpus, increase the multiplier to 15X then adjust fsb in bios to 170-175Mhz.....

    what do u guys think?

    I wanted to oc my 2200 to 2.175GHz with Volcano 11.... is that advisable? i heard 2200 is not good for oc

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Double Agent
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,603
    what about the voltage settings? 1.75Vcore sounds good? what about voltage setting for mem, agp?

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    My understanding of the OC process has been that you want the largest FSB number possible...in other words 200x11.5 is better than 166x14.
    Go for the largest FSB that you can run your memory synchronous with, then run a torture/burnin test ( and NOT for just 15 minutes...6-8 hours is what you need) to prove system stability/no memory errors.
    I just let my board determine the voltage settings.
    Even little increases in the Vcore will up your chip temps dramtically so be very careful...your "serious cooling" may be more vulnerable than you think.
    Make sure you are monitoring your onboard diode temp and not the socket temp which is typically much lower.
    Better safe than sorry.
    heard 2500 is good for oc to 3600??!!!
    What is a 3600?
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    _John_Lennon_'s Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Strawberry Fields
    Posts
    1,177
    Originally posted by clocker@11 January 2004 - 11:47

    heard 2500 is good for oc to 3600??!!!
    What is a 3600?
    A theoretical setting based on AMD's current rating system.

    And also, just because the 2500+ can overclock 700 Mhz, and the 2800+ is about 200Mhz stock over the 2500+ doesnt mean it can still overclock 700Mhz. Their all based on the same barton core, so you can get similar clock speeds with all of them, just alitle bit of improvement by buying higher up the rating system.

    It also all depends on the stepping of your 2200+.

    Thats why I like a place like www.amdmb.com

    If I were in your position, I would get the stepping of my processor, and go there, and go to the overclocking forum, and post a topic asking about the overclocking abilities of your 2200+, and list your stepping.

    Its more of their expertise there, I dont know the good stepping for every single processor. And I doubt anyone else does.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Halifax,Nova Scotia Canada
    Posts
    476
    I had an XP 2200+ and I could overclock it to just about 2 gig before it became unstable.I usually left it around 1960 mhz.It was very stable there.
    Gigabyte GA7-VT600 P-L
    Athlon XP2500+ @ 3200+
    512mb OCZ DDR333 (2,3,3,7)
    Samsung SP8004h 80gig harddrive
    Radeon 9200 128 mb
    LG cdrw/dvd drive

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Double Agent
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,603
    ok clocker let me understand u....

    u say to overclock by the largest fsb u can run ur mem with. my boarding only supports 333 and my mem 333 (pc2700) sticks so i should run at 166 fsb right?

    ok but doesn't that stress the boarding a little too much? i mean com on 200 on a 166 board?

    I'd like to focus on the cpu chip itself, there are kits on the internet for sell that can "unlock" or use conductive materials to connect the L1 bridges. so u can set the multiplier higher than usual (otherwise u can't change it in bios or by software). What is the limit to how much multipier u can have? I've seen 15 (13.5 is norm on my 2200) plus if u oc ur board's fsb 1 Mhz at a time, until u find one that's stable.

    For my board i've seen other ppl oc it to 175-180 range with like water cooling.... lolz. although i dunno about 200, that's a lil extreme... lolz

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    I run my 2600+ T-bred at 200x11.5 and the memory (PC2700) synchronous, no prob.
    Your results may vary.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    _John_Lennon_'s Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Strawberry Fields
    Posts
    1,177
    Originally posted by clocker@11 January 2004 - 15:51
    I run my 2600+ T-bred at 200x11.5 and the memory (PC2700) synchronous, no prob.
    Your results may vary.
    You are right about the bandwidth thing though. You want to go for bigger bandwidth over a higher multiplier.

    10 x 200 would do better than 133 x 16 in all benchmarks.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Double Agent
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,603
    Originally posted by clocker@11 January 2004 - 11:51
    I run my 2600+ T-bred at 200x11.5 and the memory (PC2700) synchronous, no prob.
    Your results may vary.
    pc2700 is only designed to run at 333 (166), however u run it at 400 (200)

    may i ask what kind of cooling do u have for ur oc'ed system?

    and ur sys specs plz

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Athlon 2600+ T-bred
    Asus A7N8X- Deluxe rev. 2.0, 1007 BIOS
    2x512 MB Mushkin PC2700
    case 22C, board &HDD 24C, socket28C, diode 32C...
    The CPU is watercooled, Northbridge and RAM are aircooled (120mm fan mounted on mobo)
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •