Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Backing Up Dvds

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    South East England
    Posts
    140
    Hi I'm trying to back up a few movies and haqve tried tvarious progds. First i used DVD decrypter to rip the movie and then DVD shrink to compress it then burn it, fine. then when i went to play it in my set top dvd, nothing. Even in the PC, nothing.
    Then I dl DVD X Copy and went through the processs with that, but, at 58% burn a error box comes up saying "coudnt burn to disc check log file" in there no clues. This ghappened twice, luckily I'm using +RW dvd's so no coasters.
    Help.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    hmm...i dun have any dvd burners
    it might be the copy protection that is making ur burning experience a tough time
    why dun u try alcohol 120%? u might find some luck using it
    the demo version is at http://www.alcohol-software.com/

    gildan2020
    Please be kind to the noobs...we were once them after all

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    South East England
    Posts
    140
    I think I might have the problem. The +RW discs i have are Phillips 1-4x which apparently dont worrk on all DVD burners.
    Any opinions from ay one or help appreciated.

    Cheers

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,259
    With the first method you mentioned involving DVD Decrypter, did you rip one DVD, because otherwise there would be no need to compress it.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Poster
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    South East England
    Posts
    140
    Yes I did rip one DVD, but it was over 6gb so had to compress it to fit a 4.7gb disc.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    vivitron 15's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    North East England, UK
    Posts
    1,772
    yeah, you would have to compress it....though i use dvdshrink straight dvd to hdd, and its all compressed automatically

    anyhow, it maybe the type of disk/recorder that you're using...best bet is to get a load of single disks, +/- different makes and record onto them in turn, find a make that seems to work with all your players and stick to it.

    its usu just a case of playing until you get a good make. oh and make sure your standalone plays dvdR
    <insert signature here>

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Poster
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    South East England
    Posts
    140
    I&#39;ve now updated the firmware on my burner and I&#39;m trying again with DVD shrink donig the ripping aswell as the compressing and then Nero to burn. Fingers crossed.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    vivitron 15's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    North East England, UK
    Posts
    1,772
    oh yeah, sometimes its better to burn as DVD (UDF) (might have data in the name)

    this is what most do (i think)

    but i burn it as movie, and just select all the video_ts files.




    oh, and in dvd-shrink, i dropped it down to 4400MB, cos i was having probs at the end of the disk
    <insert signature here>

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Poster
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    South East England
    Posts
    140
    Well it failed. But it said it all encoded alright, so its definatly in the burn as they say. I was hoping to be abe to do a 1 to 1 copy so i get all the menus. I am really starting to think more seriously that it is the media and to try some other discs as Vivitron said.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •