Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Windows 98 Installation Problem

  1. #1
    Regular Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    935
    hey all.

    i am doing a clean install for a mate of mine and i have a problem.
    i will be installing windows 98.

    i have formatted the computer in ms dos mode but when i restart the computer it tells me 'insert system disk and try again'.

    it seems to be searching for the floopy however i am wanting to install off a cd

    could i have some help? thanks in advance

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,563
    set the motherboard to boot from CD

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Leeds - Yorkshire - UK
    Posts
    1,364
    In fdisk did you make the disk active menu #2 and how did you formaat it with a floppy.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Regular Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    935
    its only a 10 gig hdd.

    i went to start the shut down in ms-dos mode and then when the dos came up i type format c:

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,563
    Originally posted by chinook_apache@15 January 2004 - 19:24
    its only a 10 gig hdd.

    i went to start the shut down in ms-dos mode and then when the dos came up i type format c:
    Set the bios to boot from cd and the win98 setup will start


  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Poster
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Leeds - Yorkshire - UK
    Posts
    1,364
    Right try the bios thing but if I recall this Windows version wasn't bootable from the cd rom oh as the machine got a floppy drive.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    shn's Avatar 3μ|\|(7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,585
    Originally posted by cwctv@15 January 2004 - 13:31
    Right try the bios thing but if I recall this Windows version wasn't bootable from the cd rom oh as the machine got a floppy drive.
    I think it was a bootable cd version for that. I had 98 se a long time ago back in the ice age and I still have the 98 se disk.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Regular Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    935
    hey all.

    thanks for the feedback.

    the thing is i downloaded a boot disk for windows 98 se...and i inserted that in the floppy from then on i booted from the cd.

    the thing is my windows 98 se was not a normal one....it has windows 98 se on it and also windows me

    so thanks for the feedback and i have managed to install windows 98 se...just getting some updates and installing some apps for it.

    thanks again

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Poster
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Leeds - Yorkshire - UK
    Posts
    1,364
    I think it was a bootable cd version for that. I had 98 se a long time ago back in the ice age and I still have the 98 se disk.
    i will be installing windows 98.
    I DON'T see "se" mentioned anywhere here glad you got they anyway.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    imported_uncle_cracker
    Guest
    Originally posted by cwctv@15 January 2004 - 23:40
    I think it was a bootable cd version for that. I had 98 se a long time ago back in the ice age and I still have the 98 se disk.
    i will be installing windows 98.
    I DON'T see "se" mentioned anywhere here glad you got they anyway.
    se can be very important

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •