Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Asus A7v8x-x Bios-ey Problem

  1. #1
    DarthInsinuate's Avatar Died in battle
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    5,001
    i tried to flash my bios but after i reboot it can't start up again and the internal speaker beeps continuously, the only things i can do is go to Bios setup or EZflash, when i restored it to the original Bios it was fine again

    if it has any significance it also beeps once when i turn on the power, and the whole system freezes when i try to install PcProbe or Asus update or within a minute of starting Star Wars: KOTR
    The Sexay Half Of ABBA And Max: Freelance Plants

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    does that board have the post reporter?? if it does try switching it on and c if she tells u anythin
    Thermaltake Xaser III
    Antec Truepower 430W
    Asus A7N8X Deluxe Rev 2.0
    AMD Barton 2800+ (@ 3200+)
    Aero 7+
    1Gb PC3200 Twinmos Dual Channel (@ 6,3,3,2)
    Sapphire 9800Xt
    2x WD 120Gb Sata in Raid 0
    Plextor DVD-Rom 16x
    Lite-On CD-RW 52x32x52x
    ADI 19" P900 CRT

    3dMark03 = 6326
    Aquamark = 43767

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Are you sure the BIOS update it for exactly that board?

    Did you clear the CMOS after the update?

    One beep means that all is well.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    DarthInsinuate's Avatar Died in battle
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    5,001
    its definately the right BIOS update

    if by clearing CMOS you mean taking out the battery and shorting the jumper, no i haven't tried that - the guide on the ASUS website says that you can just enter setup and load the defaults
    The Sexay Half Of ABBA And Max: Freelance Plants

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Redownload it just to be sure.

    You don't need to remove the battery.

    Just set the jumper to the clear CMOS position for a few seconds then put it back to the normal position.

    I always clear it after an upgrade.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    fucking smurfland y'idjit
    Posts
    760
    Most manufactirers recommend clearing CMOS before you update, too.
    if your font size is this small i'll add you to my ignore list because you're wasting my time, OK?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    DarthInsinuate's Avatar Died in battle
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    5,001
    haven't had a chance to try clearing CMOS (i have an exam tomorrow, i shouldn't be here really)

    but Star Wars started working i can't remember if i changed anything :confused:
    also Asus update install instead of crashing immendiatly sometimes says it can't detect a Asus motherboard
    The Sexay Half Of ABBA And Max: Freelance Plants

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •