Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Anyone Know What This Is?

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    70
    OK first of all my specs

    Windows XP Pro
    Barton Athlon XP2500
    512Mb DDR Ram
    8x AGP Geforce fx5200 (yeah I know! upgrading soon though)

    Now the problems

    (this is kind of hard to explain without actually seeing it)
    If I move an open window (for instance My Documents) around the screen by dragging it with the blue bar at the top, the sides of the window seem to 'tear' like a game's background with vsync turned off.

    The other problem is every now and again my screen will flicker (go black for an instant then return to to desktop) almost like the monitor is 'mode switching'. This is a bit concerning as I am not even touching the PC at the time, it's just turned on.

    I am using the 53.03 Nvidia drivers and desktop resolution is 1024x768 32Bit 75MHz on a 20 inch monitor.

    Sorry if this dosen't make much sense, but like I said it's quite hard to explain. I'm just worried that there is something wrong with the graphics card or mobo (as they are both new)
    <span style='font-family:Arial'><span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'>Barton Athlon XP2500, 512Mb DDR RAM, Creative Blaster 5 fx5950 Ultra, Creative Audigy 2 ZS Platinum, Win XP</span></span>

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Go to Hardwareworld&#33;&#33;
    why don&#39;t they learn...why oh why
    GFX Card and Monitor are BOTH Hardware related, why would it be here in softwareworld?&#33;

    Reported, and Moved
    Q6600 @ 3.42Ghz | Gigabyte EP35-DS3R | EVGA 8800GT 721/1802/2006 w/ Accelero S1 | 4gb Crucial DDR2 @ 760mhz | 750gb Hitachi 7k1000 | Corsair 520HX | 2 x Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" | Windows 7 Ultimate

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1,066
    as you can see, I too have a geforce fx5200 (craaaaPPP) lol

    but i never have had a problem like your own,

    you havent overclocked your card at all have you? wot are you frequencies?

    im guessing its your drivers, the card came with a cd right? uv installed the drivers off the cd ay?

    p.s tell me how to view what driver i have for my graphic card and ill tell you what i have.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    132
    u mean, the program minimizes, goes to desktop? happens to me too..

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    I know this sounds silly but happen to me too. My monitor plug was not all the way in&#33;&#33;
    Didn&#39;t discover till my children ran by stompping THE BLOODY THING FELL OUT.


    Not the power cord Guys . The other one .

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    _John_Lennon_'s Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Strawberry Fields
    Posts
    1,177
    Originally posted by peat moss@26 January 2004 - 21:41
    I know this sounds silly but happen to me too. My monitor plug was not all the way in&#33;&#33;
    Didn&#39;t discover till my children ran by stompping THE BLOODY THING FELL OUT.


    Not the power cord Guys . The other one .
    U mean the video cord?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    About the monitor going off to black screen & comming back on.

    couple of suggestions.

    1) the screen is running on a refresh rate which it can&#39;t handles so it cut&#39;s & restarts, so go to display property & advanced to change to Hz of it to 60hz. also list the modes it can&#39;t display as well. (burned a monitor that way before )

    2) Might be that you have default monitor on, mine does this flick to black screen & back when i usually press the little icon on me taskbar that can do quick changes in the display from 800 x 600 to 1024 x 768 etc Again this is nothing to worry as i have a Philips LCD TV as my screen & it&#39;s a default monitor to the computer, so it doesn&#39;t know the colour settings etc.


    3) being harsh now, get a new graphic&#39;s card as it maybe the goosed one in a million. Is it under warrenty if so shove it back to them & get it sorted, 9 times out of ten any fixes are exchanges anyway

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    70
    Originally posted by Maximus359@28 January 2004 - 16:23
    About the monitor going off to black screen & comming back on.

    couple of suggestions.

    1) the screen is running on a refresh rate which it can&#39;t handles so it cut&#39;s & restarts, so go to display property & advanced to change to Hz of it to 60hz. also list the modes it can&#39;t display as well. (burned a monitor that way before )

    2) Might be that you have default monitor on, mine does this flick to black screen & back when i usually press the little icon on me taskbar that can do quick changes in the display from 800 x 600 to 1024 x 768 etc Again this is nothing to worry as i have a Philips LCD TV as my screen & it&#39;s a default monitor to the computer, so it doesn&#39;t know the colour settings etc.


    3) being harsh now, get a new graphic&#39;s card as it maybe the goosed one in a million. Is it under warrenty if so shove it back to them & get it sorted, 9 times out of ten any fixes are exchanges anyway
    Thanks for the help fella, I will set my monitor back to 60hz.

    About the card, your right I need to change it (it came with a motherboard bundle), Ive been looking at this http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/s...tml?LEA-FX595U and would value anyones opinon on the card
    <span style='font-family:Arial'><span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'>Barton Athlon XP2500, 512Mb DDR RAM, Creative Blaster 5 fx5950 Ultra, Creative Audigy 2 ZS Platinum, Win XP</span></span>

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Already in love with it, geforces latest card

    Brillant card, the best that geforce brought out, i was amazed at the detail it gave



    a must have i belive.

    If you going to buy it check this site out as i think you will get it cheaper

    Kelkoo

    or this link same place but different brands


    Geforce Cards

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •