Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Can I Turn This Into A Server?

  1. #1
    Storm's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    crazy skiing monkey
    Posts
    1,350
    me and my roommate want to build our own server so we can share an internet connection without having to be dependant on the other havin the computer left on.

    now i have an old computer AMD 200MHz, 2.5GB HDD, 64 MB ram

    my question is: can i turn this into a stable server???? and what will i be needing??

    i dont know if its of any relevance, but my comp has XP Corp and my roommate has XP Home...............



    yeah i know................ n00b alert
    great FTP site for awesome quality video clips
    yeah, you have to sign up, but its worth it

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Originally posted by Storm@29 January 2004 - 12:52
    my question is: can i turn this into a stable server???? and what will i be needing??
    Linux.

    If you go for a minimal configuration, linux should install quite nicely on a low-power machine such as that.

    You certainly won't be able to successfully install and run any Windows based server.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    try looking that this might be a bit of a hand.

    seems a micro distro would be a good for ya.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Spicker's Avatar AKA jaigandhi5 BT Rep: +7BT Rep +7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,484
    cant u just buy a router?

    My Blog
    I'm still here.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    he could always buy a router but where is the fun in that.

    it will be cheaper and alot more configurable to use linux as a router.
    espeacially since he probably has most of the hardware laying around already.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    You don't get penguins with a hardware router.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    _John_Lennon_'s Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Strawberry Fields
    Posts
    1,177
    Could always use it as a file server as well, just add a S ATA hard drive and controller card.

    It would cost money of course, but a firewall does me little good in my current setup, dont know if it would for you.

    Also, 64MB of ram is begging for linux, seeing as how something like XP needs alteast 128MB, though we all know that its really closer to 512.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Storm's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    crazy skiing monkey
    Posts
    1,350
    Originally posted by jaigandhi5@29 January 2004 - 17:30
    cant u just buy a router?
    yeah...... but the trouble is that our mean ISP doesnt allow us to share internet, and i heard using a router makes it tracable if your running a multiple computers on a ADSL line...........

    and uhmmm........ lynx, linux sounds cool, but im not that good with computers........ are there any preconfigured linux instalation packets for this???
    great FTP site for awesome quality video clips
    yeah, you have to sign up, but its worth it

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    just about any PC (and even other computer-type electronics, like game consoles) can be used as servers. just depends on how much stress you intend to put on the server. you just need to be reasonable about how much work you expect it to do.

    you've specifically asked your ISP if you're allowed to use a router to split your connection? i don't see why they would have a problem with it, since you're still getting the exact same amount of bandwidth (no matter how many ways you slice it), and that's what you're paying for...

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    somebody else posted about closedbsd which is a unix variant looks pretty easy to setup and fits on a floppy.

    or you could follow the guide to setup fresco which i posted earlier that seems pretty easy to follow.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •