Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Ram Vs Cpu

  1. #1
    Money Fist's Avatar Che-Che get the yayo
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    London, England
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,014
    my system is
    1GHZ AMD athlon
    256DDR 2700


    i have a choice out of

    i get RAM = 256

    or i get CPU = 2500xp

    i have my system running at 133fsb at the mo
    if i get a 2500xp ill be able to run at 333fsb
    i will gat a major boost

    or the RAM
    so far i have 256
    and it pisses me off so much some times
    i do gaming alot (Operation Flashpoint is a RAM eater)

    well i will have more cash to get the other in a month
    and so far i think i should get the RAM

    wot do u think?


  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Ex-member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    5,529
    I'd say get the RAM now and then the CPU, because the low amount of RAM will be a bottleneck if you're playing a memory-intensive game. Plus if you're lucky the CPU might go down a little in price in the month you have to wait.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Money Fist's Avatar Che-Che get the yayo
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    London, England
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,014
    computer science paid off for u i see

    well i never listened to teacher much
    i still passed

    but any way
    i never saw the CPU price drop possibility!


  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    What FSB speed can your motherboard support?

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Money Fist's Avatar Che-Che get the yayo
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    London, England
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,014
    up to 400mhz
    BUT it limits u to only 2 ram slots

    if i use 333 i can use all 3 slots

    also my current RAM 256 is 333
    i dont like mix and match with ram too much VBody

    ADDED: if thats wot ya thinking


  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    No, my thinking was to get both RAM and CPU by going with a 2000+ or something like that... but that would'nt let you use the 333MHz FSB. That would only be good if your motherboard only would support up to 266MHz FSB.

    So, yes I agree with Lamsey, get the RAM first and stick with 333MHz.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Money Fist's Avatar Che-Che get the yayo
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    London, England
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,014
    cheers guys

    i guess that about wraps it up


  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Tricky question to answer i say. Well if you increase you Cpu speed, it's bound to handle a couple of more threads so it = faster speed.

    If you increase the memory you will speed up the comp with extra storage capciaty of the same program being used.



    Go for faster CPU....questions:-


    Can the motherboard handle the faster processor?
    also you say the FSB increase, but will you have to buy faster memory to get that FSB speed? or will the CPU do the extra for you?



    Extra Memory, yes it will increase preformance as it will allow quickier access due to the same info being use time & time again.
    This is proberly the cheaper option, as if you increase the cpu to a faster FSB, then you more than likely have to increase your memory speed.



    I'd say by memory use & abuse as muchas you can, if you need to update again, then buy new mobo, CPu & memory.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •