Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Resizing Partition

  1. #1
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    having some problems making new partitions with partition magic 8

    Im resizing the C: drive to 20GB and then making a new partition about 140GB (160GB total HDD). Once it reboots and starts to do that..it gets an error on resizing the C: drive to 20GB and says error 1611 while executing batch..any ideas?
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2


    re-download partition magic from some other place, u got a bad one

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    Ive used it numerous times and it worked...should I reinstall it?

    Im trying to resize the C:...then create a new one which is called G:...Ive used this exact prog before..I duno why it wont work...pissing me off though...

    It would be possible for me to run my comp off my old 80GB HDD then erase the 160GB one and create 2 partitions, THEN install windows...but I already have all my progs installed and REALLY dont wana do that..
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Guatemala
    Posts
    4,097
    My advice - don't use Partition Magic (or any other partitioner) to RE-PARTITION a hard drive. Just use it if you want to format the drive or something

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    What do I use if I want to create 2 partitions then?

    Ok..I just cant get the damn thing to work..I like to have another partition for all of my data, and a partition just for my O/S..that way if I have to reformat, its no big deal...helllp.
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Guatemala
    Posts
    4,097
    Originally posted by bigdawgfoxx@30 January 2004 - 20:30
    What do I use if I want to create 2 partitions then?

    Ok..I just cant get the damn thing to work..I like to have another partition for all of my data, and a partition just for my O/S..that way if I have to reformat, its no big deal...helllp.
    Ever used windows help?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    Thanks, I'll try that.

    Theres nothing that says New Logical Drive...
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Robert00000's Avatar Interweb Fantasist BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Age
    14
    Posts
    1,518
    Originally posted by bigdawgfoxx@31 January 2004 - 03:09
    having some problems making new partitions with partition magic 8

    Im resizing the C: drive to 20GB and then making a new partition about 140GB (160GB total HDD). Once it reboots and starts to do that..it gets an error on resizing the C: drive to 20GB and says error 1611 while executing batch..any ideas?
    When using partition magic its important you have a good understanding of the layout of your drive.

    I had so many problems with when i first used, i reformated my drive many times because of the errors, but i learnt something new each time.

    Now I have PM under my control, it knows who its master is Its an excellent piece of software once you understand it.

    Error 1611 is a bad system file name error, have a look at this link for the solution http://www.powerquest.com/support/primus/id2086.cfm

    One important thing you have to know about PM - when you create a new partition it gives you the option to create before or after C:, the default option it offers is often wrong, so you need to decide which one would be best. Think about which segments of your disc the partition/s are located. If you have one partition then you should choose after C:, because there will not be enough space before C:

    Its always better to create new partitions after to keep the integrity of the drive.

    Once you have all the partiton you need don't change them around too much or you will get errors.
    Robert00000

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    Its a brand new drive...havnt done nothing but installed windows...should I just completley reformatt it and get it blank again, THEN put it into 2 partitions"?

    I am now running windows through my 80 GB HDD and tried to resize the 160GB HDD, but I got errors...kinda diff kind..but still errors and it wouldnt let me do it...
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    why oh why cant i just make a new fucking partitiong...I think I will have to completly delete everything off of the new drive...ugh
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •