Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Compaq Evo Bios Password Bypass?

  1. #1
    Hi have just inherited a COMPAQ EVO N1015V from my uncle but its got a problem existing on it that he couldnt solve! basically there is a PASSWORD set to the BIOS and i need to bypass it to use the machine, he cannot remember it so im stuck! is there any possible way of bypassing the BIOS password so it can be reset?

    thanks for any help given

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    _John_Lennon_'s Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Strawberry Fields
    Posts
    1,177
    Who is the maker of the BIOS? Also, what kind of motherboard is it.

    Usually, if its a desktop you can just use the Reset CMOS jumper to clear everything.

    EDIT: Ahh crap, its a notebook.

    Okay, give me a few and let me see what I can find.


    Righto, well, I cant seem to find what kind of bios it is, but HP gives a BIOS update method, which should wipe everything clean including the CMOS password, I think.


    Of course, you can always take out the battery and leave it unpluged for a month to let the the system run dry so the battery goes out. But its a month if your lucky, might take up to 3 years on some, lol.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Lick My Lovepump
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Age
    15
    Posts
    2,698
    I think that www.tomshardware.com had an article somewhere stating many passwords manufacturers build into BIOSes just incase. I can't find that article, but maybe you'll have more luck.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    _John_Lennon_'s Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Strawberry Fields
    Posts
    1,177
    Originally posted by Mad Cat@2 February 2004 - 16:51
    I think that www.tomshardware.com had an article somewhere stating many passwords manufacturers build into BIOSes just incase. I can't find that article, but maybe you'll have more luck.
    Yeah, I know a bunch of them, for instance on alot of Phoenix Bios&#39;s if a password is set, you can usually use Phoenix as a password, and it will work, but it depends on the BIOS< and the motherboard manfacturer that is using it.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    hi people

    thanks for suggestions but my PC mate simply removed the CMOS battery or something for a few minutes and restarted and it worked fine again&#33; now all i need is a complete reinstall of WINDOWS XP coz uncles got all his work shite on here cloggin up the 40GB HD&#33;

    im well pleased wid the performance of the laptop-its got a AMD 2000+, 256 DDR, 40gb hd, CD-RW/DVD combo, ATi graphics&#33; not bad for free hey&#33;

    thanks again

    shane

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    nice. i have an evo 1015v too, but mines only athlon 1500, 384mb ram, 20gig and cdrom.
    although its a very nice machine.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    _John_Lennon_'s Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Strawberry Fields
    Posts
    1,177
    Originally posted by ace2003k@2 February 2004 - 18:20
    hi people

    thanks for suggestions but my PC mate simply removed the CMOS battery or something for a few minutes and restarted and it worked fine again&#33; now all i need is a complete reinstall of WINDOWS XP coz uncles got all his work shite on here cloggin up the 40GB HD&#33;

    im well pleased wid the performance of the laptop-its got a AMD 2000+, 256 DDR, 40gb hd, CD-RW/DVD combo, ATi graphics&#33; not bad for free hey&#33;

    thanks again

    shane
    Wait wait wait, how did you remove the CMOS battery that easy? I thought this was a laptop.......

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    you should be able tpo remove the bottom plate pretty easy with a few screws.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    simply just opened a panel on the back and there it was-left it out for bout 5 minutes(thats probly too long) and replaced the CMOS battery and turned it on and it was fine again&#33;

    ace

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •