Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: How Do I Ground Myself

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    378
    Hi all I was just wondering what I could use to ground myself so I can install my new ram? Thx 4 ne help

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    3,110
    Hold onto a radiator and touch the metal on the case.
    On a given day or given circumstance, you think you have a limit.
    And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit and you think "Ok, this is the limit".
    As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further.
    With your mind power, your determination, your instinct and the experience as well, you can fly very high.

    - Ayrton Senna, R.I.P.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    378
    k thx I'm Dumm@$$ though i just noticed the ram guide again Sorry its been awhile

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Darth Sushi's Avatar Sushi Lord
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Corisant
    Posts
    5,813
    If your wall outlet is properly grounded (3-prong), plug the power cable into the power-supply but but leave the power off. holding the computer case frame (bare metal) will suffice as a ground.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    132
    why would he want to change the ram when the power cord is plugged in?

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Age
    36
    Posts
    3,357
    Originally posted by Weedy@4 February 2004 - 01:00
    why would he want to change the ram when the power cord is plugged in?
    Because then the case will be earthed. And he can ground himself by touching the case. If it isn't plugged it isn't earthed.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    SciManAl's Avatar Hardware guy
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Wichita Kansas
    Posts
    899
    a three prong has three prongs for a reason, two give power, the othewr one is the grouynd.. when it is connected it will ground the comp better... if the power suply is switched off then your comp wont turn on when you push the Start button... (sry if you aren't a nub, this is just in case)

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Fart !! I touch the sink taps before I do anything

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Keikan's Avatar ........
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Edmonton (Not Enfield)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,771
    Use gloves?
    Ohh noo!!! I make dribbles!!!

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    abu_has_the_power's Avatar I have cool stars
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,503
    Originally posted by Keikan@3 February 2004 - 23:44
    Use gloves?
    that doesn't help.


    touching the case with the power cable plugged in is a good way to do it. so is touching anything metal that is somehow connected with the floor. u don't have that much to worry bout if u have wood floors.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •