Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Can I Effectively Oc My Xp2000+

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1,066
    im getting to that stage where i dont really give a shit what happens to my slow amd athlon xp2000+. i wanna OC it.

    im guessing its around 1.6ghz, so if i can successfully OC to 1.8Ghz or even better 2ghz....


    ... will i physically see any difference? im a gamer so performance matters to me.

    p.s those barton 2500+ cost like NZ$150 here !!!!!!! GRRRRRRRRR damn i wish i was in the states

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    SciManAl's Avatar Hardware guy
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Wichita Kansas
    Posts
    899
    1.8 is probable... My bros comp with a 2000+ doesn't seem to like to go aboce the FSB of 140... umm, but otherwise yes it is possible... just get some cooling the 2000+ get hot...

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    bluedevil's Avatar Antileech.Inc
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    At Home
    Posts
    153
    1.8 should be easy made out of it

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    The Thoroughbred core doesn't seem to like being clocked to an FSB above about 140 (or the Palomino for that matter), although I understand some of the 1800XP's were an exception.

    You seem to need to change the multiplier to get any decent overclocking. If you can unlock the multipliers, I suggest REDUCING the FSB and increasing the multiplier to give approximately the same overall frequency, then increase the FSB from there. If you manage to get back to 133MHz try increasing the multiplier again (and reducing the FSB of course) and repeat.

    I managed to get about 1650MHz out of my 1700XP (1467MHz is standard) using that method, without any voltage changes. I might have got more, but unlocking the multipliers on a Palomino is a pain, and I didn't manage to get all of them.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Filesharinghelp.com
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    760
    I did manage to have my 2000+ running stable at 166 x 12.5, before i crushed the core

    Got a 1900+ yesterday (only 35 B) ) gonna see how much this goes upto later

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Guatemala
    Posts
    4,097
    Originally posted by lynx@4 February 2004 - 20:46
    The Thoroughbred core doesn't seem to like being clocked to an FSB above about 140 (or the Palomino for that matter), although I understand some of the 1800XP's were an exception.
    I think you are talking about the Tbred-B, the one I have

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Storm's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    crazy skiing monkey
    Posts
    1,350
    go to www.tomshardware.com for complete guides............
    great FTP site for awesome quality video clips
    yeah, you have to sign up, but its worth it

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1,066
    yer bout time ppl started replying to this

    The Thoroughbred core doesn't seem to like being clocked to an FSB above about 140 (or the Palomino for that matter), although I understand some of the 1800XP's were an exception.
    how do i find out what my FSB is etc. i have no idea bout OC the CPU. all i know is that you go into bios.... slowly change sumthing. measure the temps. keep slowly increasing the multiplyer or sumthing, until the comp stalls, frezzes etc. then go bak one step.

    go to www.tomshardware.com for complete guides............
    u need to fix the link

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Halifax,Nova Scotia Canada
    Posts
    476
    Originally posted by Lite@5 February 2004 - 11:35
    I did manage to have my 2000+ running stable at 166 x 12.5, before i crushed the core

    Got a 1900+ yesterday (only 35 B) ) gonna see how much this goes upto later
    The XP 1900+ sucks for overclocking.The best I can get out of mine is 1704 mhz with any kind of stability.
    Gigabyte GA7-VT600 P-L
    Athlon XP2500+ @ 3200+
    512mb OCZ DDR333 (2,3,3,7)
    Samsung SP8004h 80gig harddrive
    Radeon 9200 128 mb
    LG cdrw/dvd drive

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Filesharinghelp.com
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    760
    Originally posted by johnboy27+5 February 2004 - 13:09--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (johnboy27 @ 5 February 2004 - 13:09)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-Lite@5 February 2004 - 11:35
    I did manage to have my 2000+ running stable at 166 x 12.5, before i crushed the core&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp;

    Got a 1900+ yesterday (only 35&nbsp; B)&nbsp; ) gonna see how much this goes upto later&nbsp;
    The XP 1900+ sucks for overclocking.The best I can get out of mine is 1704 mhz with any kind of stability. [/b][/quote]


    Well ive got mine at 144 x 12 atm (1728mhz) its pretty stable, will try a burn in test later - hope it survives&#33;

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •