Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Shared Cable Access

  1. #1
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    is it possible to share cable internet acces via a network switch instead of a router. as it wouldnt be used much and is far cheaper.

    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/products/in...oduct_uid=55668

    or would it need more than one ip to acces via a switch.

    if not ill just have to get This router

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Guatemala
    Posts
    4,097
    Yes. The easiest way is to get a second network card for the computer closer to the connection. This way, one card with a crossover cable to the other computer connects it to the internet via the first card.

    I myself have the other computer with internet via this one. The disadvantage of this is that you have to have the computer (the one with the connection) on for the other one to access.

    With a switch, you can use straight cables and connect the cable TO the switch so the connection is shared.

    http://www.homenethelp.com/

    I guided myself over there.

    Have fun

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    thanks, both computers are laptops. its for at my girlfirends house, so i can use my laptop down here. and her only computer is a laptop too.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4


    IMO, its better to buy a router

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Guatemala
    Posts
    4,097
    Originally posted by Livy@5 February 2004 - 18:52
    thanks, both computers are laptops. its for at my girlfirends house, so i can use my laptop down here. and her only computer is a laptop too.
    Ah ok. Then it's harder for the laptops for another network card hehe

    Then the way to go would be a switch or using the router. They are both easy to set up

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    they way you drawn it, it would just be easyer buying one nic card, and a crossover cable, alot cheaper.

    i was just wantin something cheap as it would be used much.

    i know routers are better, i got one at my own house. my little linksys baby.

    it aint that hard for a network card, get pcmcia ones.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Guatemala
    Posts
    4,097
    Originally posted by Livy@5 February 2004 - 18:56
    they way you drawn it, it would just be easyer buying one nic card, and a crossover cable, alot cheaper.

    i was just wantin something cheap as it would be used much.

    i know routers are better, i got one at my own house. my little linksys baby.
    Actually there are 2 ways to use a switch:

    One, the way FilePirater put it. The other, connecting the modem to the switch, and the other two computers to it as well. That way, you don't need the other computer to be on to use the internet.

    The way FilePirater drew it, is the way I have it. However, I don't use a switch to link PC2 and PC1, but just a crossover cable (I guess it saves some power, since you don't use a switch )

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    buy a router livy, its better than a retarded switch

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    Originally posted by TheFilePirater@6 February 2004 - 01:59
    buy a router livy, its better than a retarded switch
    looks like it might have to be that way.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Guatemala
    Posts
    4,097
    Originally posted by TheFilePirater@5 February 2004 - 18:59
    buy a router livy, its better than a retarded switch
    Thing is, a router wouldn't allow you to hook up 16-24-32 computers to the same connection

    If I used my switch, I could hook up 16 puters

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •