Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Videolan Question

  1. #1
    shn's Avatar 3μ|\|(7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,585
    My videolan will not play any mpg files or mostly any other files for that matter. I have it installed on Red Hat 9 and when I open a file it only plays the audio.

    Is there any additional codecs for linux that I need for video lan to work? I went to their site.............no luck. My mplayer and xine player work just fine and play any type of video format including windows media files.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    videolan uses the ffmpeg codecs to play all its content. i would make sure you have that package installed.

    here

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    shn's Avatar 3μ|\|(7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,585
    Originally posted by 4play@11 February 2004 - 14:33
    videolan uses the ffmpeg codecs to play all its content. i would make sure you have that package installed.

    here
    Thanks, but i installed that a while ago for either xine or mplayer I forget

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    i had a similar problem when i first installed it i tried playing with the settings and i think setting the video output module to x11 solved it for me.

    you need to tick the advanced tick box under video to see it.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    shn's Avatar 3μ|\|(7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,585
    Originally posted by 4play@11 February 2004 - 14:55
    i had a similar problem when i first installed it i tried playing with the settings and i think setting the video output module to x11 solved it for me.

    you need to tick the advanced tick box under video to see it.
    Thanks, that worked for all the other formats but it still wont play mpg.

    I suppose that's good enough, Ill use my other players for mpg. Mine had to be set to xvideo though.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    try playing with the decoders preferences to use ffmpeg to play your video that should work for mpeg as well then.

    im having problems with the sound in mine i cant hear a thing what settings do you have under audio :helpsmile:

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    shn's Avatar 3μ|\|(7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,585
    Alsa for my sound

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •