Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Advice Needed On Ram

  1. #1
    Hi,

    Need some advice on Ram from this website

    Ram-A-Dam...

    I'm soon to be getting a new P4 3.2 with HT and 800 fsb etc. with new motherboard....
    And was wondering which of the Ram from this web page is best or are they all much the same?

    My budget for Ram is about 100-140, this obviously rules out alot of the expensive stuff!!!

    Cheers

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    what about this?

    http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/PartSpecs....464Z40B&cat=RAM

    free shipping.

    or are you looking for 1gb, or u could get 2 sticks of it.and it "may" work in dual channel if ur board supports it.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    abu_has_the_power's Avatar I have cool stars
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,503
    with that much money, u can get some really good ram. corsair or mushkin or ocz are all great ram.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    this looks okay, but u can get twice the ammount of the crucial stuff, which i havent had a prob with in my system

    edit: Link

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Thanks, :beerchug:
    but, does Ram make, make much difference?

    If only there was a guide to how well Ram performs and maybe a comparison chart oF something......... would be very useful!

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    4,053
    Yeah mate quite a bit

    http://www.casetech.co.uk/index.php/cPath/77_138

    you may find cheaper elsewhere

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Another quick question on Ram....

    Would you recommend 512mb of higher quality Ram?

    or

    1Gb of lower quality Ram?

    and why?

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    Really it depends on what you do...

    I have 512MB of 2X256MB PC3200 2-2-2-5 Ram...I play some games like NFSU and stuff and run lots of programs at once..and it works GREAT cost about $140USD.
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    it really depends on what your using your computer for.

    but i wouldnt call crucial low quality ram. i would say its good quality. the others go that little further.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    abu_has_the_power's Avatar I have cool stars
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,503
    by low quality do u mean low latency and high latency? or ram speed? i'd get a good ram speed for ocing, and u can always trim ur latency. like what i did. i don't need my ram to run crazily fast, so i didn't trim that much.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •