Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Dvd Playback

  1. #1
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    im having problems with dvd playback with xine.

    I installed the latest verison with the latest dvdcss stuff but the playback is still very choppy. im guessing possible mpeg2 codec problem.

    anyone else have similar problems ?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    h1
    Guest
    Have you installed the latest MPEG-2 codecs? I just use VideoLAN though.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    try to find them pesky mpeg2 codecs and videolan is a bit cocked up at the moment.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    anyone wanna recommend a few mpeg2 codecs for linux. im having trouble there are so many

    the ffmpeg one is crap by the way

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    im still trying to resolve this pesty problem

    im trying to make sure dma is enabled on my dvd rom.

    i tried using hdparm as root but it says it is not supported for this device. what else can i use to check dma is enabled ?

    edit: yay it worked nice smooth playback. i used yast to turn on dma by the way and i just noticed a triple post

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    shn's Avatar 3μ|\|(7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,585
    Originally posted by 4play@18 February 2004 - 14:10
    im still trying to resolve this pesty problem

    im trying to make sure dma is enabled on my dvd rom.

    i tried using hdparm as root but it says it is not supported for this device. what else can i use to check dma is enabled ?

    edit: yay it worked nice smooth playback. i used yast to turn on dma by the way and i just noticed a triple post
    Nice

    What else can yast do?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    yast is pretty cool. its yet another system tool but it works well.

    doe shave a few little problems like it keeps messing up my fstab file.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •