Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Cpu Step-up

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Age
    29
    Posts
    301
    I've currently got the following

    AMD Athlon XP 1700+
    512 MB 2100 DDR Ram
    Standered case (230 volts psu, loud ass fucker it is too.)

    and looking to upgrade to the following..

    Mobo: MS6118
    AMD Athlon XP 2700+
    512 MB 2700 DDR Ram
    Metal case with clear sides (350 watts)

    How much of a diffrence would I feel during gameplay if I upgraded?


    I've already upgraded my graphics card from a gayForce 5200 to ATI 9800

    Thx.
    I wasn't going to buy it in the first place, so me downloading it for free isn't losing them any money.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    Thats much faster ram and much faster CPU, so I would say you would feel a diffence

    I would get a 2500XP and make it a 3200XP though
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    abu_has_the_power's Avatar I have cool stars
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,503
    yea. get the 2500. it's a barton core

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Yes, but if you intend to get the 2500+ Barton and run it as a 3200+ then make sure the motherboard FSB and RAM can run at 400MHz.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Also make sure you have proper cooling! OCing heats it up fast
    Q6600 @ 3.42Ghz | Gigabyte EP35-DS3R | EVGA 8800GT 721/1802/2006 w/ Accelero S1 | 4gb Crucial DDR2 @ 760mhz | 750gb Hitachi 7k1000 | Corsair 520HX | 2 x Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" | Windows 7 Ultimate

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    _John_Lennon_'s Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Strawberry Fields
    Posts
    1,177
    The 2700+ is perfectly fine if he is getting it.


    Oh btw, you wouldnt happen to want to just give away your 1700+, and 2100Ram would you............

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    abu_has_the_power's Avatar I have cool stars
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,503
    Originally posted by _John_Lennon_@16 February 2004 - 21:47
    The 2700+ is perfectly fine if he is getting it.


    Oh btw, you wouldnt happen to want to just give away your 1700+, and 2100Ram would you............
    lol. it's my job to smooch off o people. lol.

    the barton core is better in terms of flexibility than the 2700, which i think is the throughbred

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    there are more bartons than just the 2500, the 2700 may be better if your wanting outright ghz, which a 2700 thourghbred may be better.

    or he may be on about a 2700 barton? but i think the next barton is the 2800 though,

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Greenock, Scotland
    Posts
    2,680
    Originally posted by abu_has_the_power+17 February 2004 - 04:53--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (abu_has_the_power @ 17 February 2004 - 04:53)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-_John_Lennon_@16 February 2004 - 21:47
    The 2700+ is perfectly fine if he is getting it.


    Oh btw, you wouldnt happen to want to just give away your 1700+, and 2100Ram would you............
    lol. it&#39;s my job to smooch off o people. lol.

    the barton core is better in terms of flexibility than the 2700, which i think is the throughbred [/b][/quote]
    If anyone&#39;s getting them it&#39;s me&#33;&#33;&#33;

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    Originally posted by stupidguy+17 February 2004 - 10:54--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (stupidguy @ 17 February 2004 - 10:54)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'>
    Originally posted by abu_has_the_power@17 February 2004 - 04:53
    <!--QuoteBegin-_John_Lennon_
    @16 February 2004 - 21:47
    The 2700+ is perfectly fine if he is getting it.


    Oh btw, you wouldnt happen to want to just give away your 1700+, and 2100Ram would you............

    lol. it&#39;s my job to smooch off o people. lol.

    the barton core is better in terms of flexibility than the 2700, which i think is the throughbred
    If anyone&#39;s getting them it&#39;s me&#33;&#33;&#33; [/b][/quote]
    I&#39;ll Decide

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •